Pop Culture Odds and Ends – Four More Weeks Edition

I spent my Columbus Day holiday at the doctor’s office for my two week follow-up appointment to see how my ankle is healing. I’ve tried to be extremely careful while on crutches, but I was still nervous that my ankle might not be healing properly for whatever reason and that I might have to have surgery. I wasn’t all that concerned about the surgery in and of itself, but that would push my recovery back even further and I am not a patient person. Thankfully, the doctor said that my ankle is healing perfectly, so surgery is off the table as an option. I’ve just got to endure four more weeks on crutches and then my cast comes off. It’s longer than I had hoped – that will bring me to a grand total of six weeks on crutches when this is said and done – but I’m trying to convince myself that an additional few weeks is doable and that I probably won’t be miserable this entire time. I’m just really ready for this major inconvenience to be over. To put this in perspective, haven’t been to the movies in over two months! I’m surprised the cinema hasn’t filed a missing persons report for me yet.

But enough about me being cranky – that’s not what you are here for. You’re interested in the hot pop culture slices that I’m serving up, and this week is no different. I’ve looked high and low to find you the best pop culture news that the interwebs has to offer. So get caught up on the pop culture that you might have missed with this week’s installment of the roundup. And if you see anyone on crutches, be nice to them. I assure you, they are not loving life right now.

 

Bob-s-Burgers-image-bobs-burgers-36089270-500-200

  • Here’s Amy Schumer’s Saturday Night Live monologue:

 

  • This Iron Man Hulkbuster costume from NYCC is freaking impressive:

 

  • The Rock dancing will never cease to entertain me:

Post cardio bliss.. #WatchYourStep #CauseImFeelinMyself #IHitAlotOfThings #IncludingTheQuan

A post shared by therock (@therock) on

 

Time for some trailers…..

  • Daredevil season two:

 

  • The Coen Brothers’ Hail, Caesar!:

 

  • Marvel’s Jessica Jones:

 

  • WBN America’s Outsiders:

 

  • A new X-Files teaser:

 

  • The Man in the High Castle:

 

  • Cinemax’s Outcast:

 

  • Netflix’s W/Bob & David:

 

  • A Gotham season two sizzle reel:

 

  • The Robot Chicken DC Comics Special #3:

 

  • American Crime Story: The People v. O.J. Simpson:

 

  • The Lion Guard: Return of the Roar:

 

  • ABC Family’s Shadowhunters:

 

  • Pride and Prejudice and Zombies:

 

  • Kanye auditioned for American Idol:

 

  • James Corden takes over for the male model on the Price is Right:

 

  • Outtakes of Robin Williams from Aladdin:

 

 

As always, we end with the supercuts and mashups….

  • Someone recreated a Blink 182 video in Grand Theft Auto V:

 

  • A supercut of people flying in movies:

 

  • Every James Bond kill:

 

  • A mashup of Kendrick Lamar and the Super Mario Brothers theme (NSFW):

 

  • A Nine Inch Nails/The Temptations mashup:

 

  • The Walking Dead meets Friends:

 

  • It doesn’t get much better than Amy Poehler and Jack Black singing “The Rose”:

 

  • And finally, the Muppets get the Aaron Sorkin treatment in Studio 60 on the Sesame Street:

 

 

Leave a Reply

