Pop Culture Odds and Ends – In the Home Stretch Edition

It looks like I only have two more weeks left on these stupid crutches, which means that I am almost done with this  failed experiment. I went back to the doctor yesterday since I took a tumble coming down the stairs while on my crutches and while I didn’t fall on my ankle and it felt fine, I wanted to make sure that I hadn’t done any incidental damage in my constant battle with gravity. Thankfully, all was well which was a very good thing; had they told me that I had to extend my tour of duty on crutches, it is quite possible that there may have been an incident that would have been reported on the local news. I’m pretty much at my breaking point physically and psychologically and really the main thing that is getting me through this ordeal is knowing that it is almost over – this phase of it at least. I think everyone else is over me being on crutches too, since I’ve gotten some not so helpful comments from some people lately (so you can add hurt feelings to my list of injuries lately). But 14 more days seems like something I can do – not that I really have a choice – and life can go back to normal. What this means for you, dear readers, is you may finally get some movie reviews again, as I haven’t been to the theater since July – JULY, people! I’m honestly surprised that the people at the cinema haven’t sent a search party out for me yet.

But until I’m able to go back to living my life of pop culture luxury, we have the pop culture roundup to help us all get back. My weekly mission continues to find you the latest and greatest news from the world of pop culture. As always, the interwebs didn’t disappoint and I was able to uncover all sorts of pop culture goodness this week. So while I create a crutches advent calendar and wrap myself in bubblewrap for the foreseeable future , get yourself caught up on all the pop culture that you might have missed.

  • Jimmy Fallon and I are in a competition to see who can be the most injured (I am currently winning in number, he’s winning in severity)
  • Netflix’s Gilmore Girls revival will be four 90-minute episodes, each focusing on a different season of the same year.
  • Chance the Rapper unveiled a new song on The Late Show with Stephen Colbert (it’s free to download in iTunes):

 

  • Adele dropped a new music video:

 

Time for some trailers….

  • Jennifer Lawrence in Joy:

 

  • Marvel’s Jessica Jones:

 

  • Aziz Ansari’s Netflix series, Master of None:

 

  • The Ridiculous 6 – Adam Sandler’s latest:

 

  • Sherlock: The Abominable Bride:

 

  • Sam Rockwell and Danny McBride in Don Verdean:

 

  • Natalie Portman in Jane Got A Gun:

 

  • Will Ferrrell and Mark Wahlberg in Daddy’s Home:

 

  • Another trailer for The X-Files:

 

  • A full-season trailer for Supergirl:

 

  • BBC’s London Spy:

 

  • John Travolta in Criminal Activities:

 

  • Pride and Prejudice and Zombies:

 

  • Showtime’s Shameless:

 

  • A sketch from Netflix’s W/Bob & David:

 

  • Someone made Floyd Mayweather fight Ronda Rousey in Street Fighter IV:

 

As always we end with the mashups and supercuts…..

  • A supercut of Kermit and Miss Piggy:

 

  • Gwar covers Cyndi Lauper’s “She Bop”:

 

  • A time traveling supercut:

 

  • A supercut of horror movie houses:

 

  • A Motown-style cover of “Halo” by Beyoncé:

 

  • Ghostbusters reimagined as a sitcom:

 

  • Daniel Tosh did a shot for shot remake of Selena Gomez’s new music video:

 

  • And finally….we all knew that an Adele/Lionel Richie mashup was coming:

 

 

Leave a Reply

