Pop Culture Odds and Ends – R.I.P. Grantland edition

 

 

Last Friday I was minding my own business when some news came across Twitter that really bummed me out – ESPN was shutting down their sports and pop culture website Grantland. In retrospect the news wasn’t that shocking; Grantland founder Bill Simmons left the company under acrimonious circumstances and many of the top editors and writers at Grantland had already abandoned ship. It was unlikely that ESPN was going to cultivate a website that was so much a manifestation of the guy that they had just fired. But even though in my heart of hearts I knew Grantland’s days were already numbered, it didn’t make Friday’s announcement that Grantland was done effective immediately any easier.

Grantland was the type of website that I dreamed of working for. It was a one-stop shop for a plethora of great writers who wrote smart things about pop culture and sports. In essence, it would have been my dream job. Thanks to the talented people at Grantland, I discovered a lot of pop culture that I probably wouldn’t have necessarily taken the time to check out. The only reason that I binge watched – and loved – Mr. Robot was because Andy Greenwald and Chris Ryan gushed about it on their Hollywood Prospectus podcast. I went to the Museum of Play in Rochester because of a piece written by Rembert Browne. Half the fun of watching the first season of True Detective was hearing what the Girls in Hoodies podcast would have to say about it. I didn’t always agree with Wesley Morris’ movie reviews, but he always had something thoughtful to say. I got my blast of nostalgia reading David Shoemaker’s posts on the WWE. The Grantland pop culture podcasts, as a collective, got me through many a late night drive from my own pop culture adventures. And now they are all gone.

The people that worked at Grantland will find other jobs – many already have – and I will follow them in their future endeavors. But there was just something so great about having them all housed in one space, bouncing ideas and opinions off each other, in what seemed like a pretty great community. My iTunes feed seems so empty without the latest installments of their podcasts. So before we get to the pop culture roundup, I wanted to pour one out for my peeps at Grantland. Your work meant something to me, not only as a pop culture consumer, but as an aspiring pop culture blogger. Grantland will be missed.

02-forthehomies

And now….on to the pop culture roundup……

nooooooo_elf

 

 

Time for some trailers……..

  • AMC’s Preacher:

 

  • Zac Efron and Robert DeNiro in Dirty Grandpa:

 

  • Charlie Kaufman’s Anomalisa:

 

  • The Wiz Live!:

 

  • Brad Pitt and Angelina Jolie in By The Sea:

 

  • Spike Lee’s CHI-RAQ:

 

  • A final trailer for The Peanuts Movie:

 

  • Patricia Arquette and David Zayas in The Wannabe:

 

  • WEtv’s South of Hell:

 

  • Sally Field in Hello, My Name Is Doris:

 

  • Alvin and the Chipmunks: The Road Chip:

 

  • Over Your Dead Body:

 

  • James Franco and Seth Rogen in The Sound and the Fury:

 

  • Rise of the Tomb Raider:

 

🎃🎃🎃

A post shared by Monique Coleman (@_moniquecoleman) on

 

  • The Hocus Pocus kids also hung out:

 

I4VU8Kx

 

Bild från stugis #poseofdoom

A post shared by Konrad Annerud (@konradannerud) on

 

As always, we end with the mashups and supercuts…..

  • I cannot even begin the fathom what is going on with this Joe Jonas cover of Adele:

 

  • Sir David Attenborough narrates Adele’s video for “Hello”:

 

  • Bond villains love to laugh

 

  • All 24 Bond theme songs in under a minute:

 

  • The Inside Out emotions react to the new Star Wars trailer:

 

  • An “Is that all you’ve got?” supercut:

 

  • Cats in film:

 

  • Stephen Colbert and Allison Janney do a dramatic reading of “Hot Blooded”:

 

  • Josh Groban and Kelly Clarkson sing “All I Ask”:

 

  • A mashup of Justin Bieber and Drake:

 

  • President Obama sings “Thriller”:

 

  • And finally, Batman vs. Superman syncs up nicely with The Force Awakens:

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

