Pop Culture Odds and Ends – The Big Game Edition

We’re only a few days away from Super Bowl Sunday, one of the most glorious days of the year. Even if you don’t like football, chances are that you’ll tune in to the big game to at least watch the commercials and the halftime show. Of course my team isn’t in the Super Bowl this year (or pretty much any year), but I’m still looking forward to Sunday. Not only is it a fun day to hang out with my friends that I watch football with every Sunday, but I’m hoping for a miracle that Peyton Manning walks away with another Super Bowl ring this year. Given how well the Carolina Panthers have been playing that may be unlikely, but I’d like Manning to end his career on a high note. I’m guessing this is his last ride on the football merry-go-round and I’ll always be disappointed that a blizzard prevented me from seeing him play against Buffalo. But really, as long as I can have my wings and enjoy the Patriots not being in the Super Bowl, I’ll be happy no matter how the actual game plays out.

It feels like every Wednesday is the Super Bowl of pop culture, as I once again bring you the best that the web had to offer in the last week. So without further ado, let’s get on to this week’s pop culture roundup.

 

 

 

 

Time for some trailers….

  • Trolls:

 

  • Alice Through The Looking Glass:

 

  • Nine Lives:

 

  • The Secret Life of Pets:

 

  • Broad City:

 

  • The Confirmation:

 

  • Mavis:

 

  • The Walking Dead:

 

  • The Secret Life of Pets:

 

  • The ladies of RuPaul’s Drag Race are going out on tour:

 

  • Kubo and the Two Strings:

 

  • LEGO Dimensions:

 

  • Regression:

 

  • The Witch:

 

56afa1891800002d0080b02d

 

 

Sorry boys. I'm off the market

A post shared by Sophie Turner (@sophiet) on

 

As always, we end with the supercuts and mashups…..

  • Jimmy Fallon, Sia, The Roots and Natalie Portman perform “Iko Iko”:

 

  • Archer meets Magnum, P.I.:

 

tumblr_o1q1a4lh051qa53wno1_500 tumblr_o1q1a4lh051qa53wno10_500

 

  • Every Best Picture winner ever:

 

  • “Here” as a Peggy Lee-style jazz number:

 

tumblr_o1q1h2IhO01qa53wno1_500 tumblr_o1q1h2IhO01qa53wno8_500

 

  • White actors playing other races:

 

  • 100 years of zombie evolution:

 

harry-potter-anime-sirius-hermione

  • The Suicide Squad trailer audio with clips from Batman: The Animated Series:

 

  • And finally, The Muppets sing the theme to The Muppet Show:
Leave a Reply

