Pop Culture Odds and Ends – March Madness Edition

My love for March Madness is well established; I look forward to the men’s college basketball tournament every year and run my office’s pool (allegedly). But this year, I am going into the tourney blind as I literally have not watched a single college basketball game all season. Now, my consumption of college ball has waxed and waned in recent years after an all time high in college and early grad school, but this is a new low for me. I couldn’t even tell you what teams or players are good; it’s like an entire season unfolded without me hearing a single thing about it. Until the brackets were announced, I wasn’t even sure if UConn (my team and quasi alma mater) was a) even eligible for the tournament this year or b) any good. So filing out my brackets this year has meant relying on the wisdom of others and just guessing. So while I am excited to spend Thursday and Friday  total immersed in the first round games, I have little to no confidence in my actual picks. Of course, this will probably be the year that I win the pool, since that seems to be how these things tend to unfold.

So while I spend hours pouring over other people’s brackets and reading analysis, spend some time getting caught up on something that I do actually pay close attention to – the world of pop culture. As always, I’ve curated the best that the Internet has to offer and hopefully caught some pop culture stories for you that would have otherwise fell through the cracks.

Time for some trailers…..

  • Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt season 2:

 

  • Popstar: Never Stop Never Stopping:

 

  • Netflix’s The Ranch:

 

  • HBO’s Vice Principals:

 

  • Storks:

 

  • Sausage Party:

 

  • Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children:

 

  • Marvel’s Daredevil season 2:

 

  • Friend Request:

 

  • One More Time:

 

  • A Hologram for the King:

 

  • Florence Foster Jenkins:

 

  • Kubo and the Two Strings:

 

  • Everybody Wants Some:

 

  • Queen of the Desert:

 

  • Soundbreaking:

 

  • Alive and Kicking:

 

  • Holidays:

 

  • Team Foxcatcher:

 

As always, we end with the mashups and supercuts….

  • “Inappropriate Musicals” on The Late Late Show with James Corden:

 

  • Batman v Superman….the romcom?

 

  • Horace & Pete meets Cheers:

 

  • Batman & Robin recut in the style of The Dark Knight:

 

  • I always said what was missing from “Sweet Child O’ Mine” was some tap dancing:

 

  • “Somewhere Over the Rainbow” performed using Google Doodles:

 

  • A supercut of Charlie Kaufman films:

 

 enhanced-buzz-wide-357-1457989442-7

 

enhanced-buzz-wide-6894-1457989498-7

  • And finally, the Muppets perform Bone Thugs-N-Harmony:

 

One thought on “Pop Culture Odds and Ends – March Madness Edition

  1. […] Pop Culture Odds and Ends – March Madness Edition (asheathersworldturns.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

