Pop Culture Odds and Ends – Peak TV edition

Pop-Culture-608x500

There’s been a lot of talk lately about how there is too much quality television available currently. I kind of scoffed at that notion until recently, as I find myself unable to keep up with or try all the shows that I want to watch. Now, I watch a lot of TV – way more than your average bear – so when I am struggling to keep abreast of all the television options, there’s a legitimate overabundance. As it is now, I feel like some days that I am barely keeping me head above water on the shows that I do normally watch; my DVR is constantly hovering at the 40-50% mark and for someone with pop culture OCD like me, that is unheard of. I’m hoping that as some shows wrap up their seasons I’ll be able to catch up and branch out more, but I just don’t know if that’s going to happen. Right now, I have a very long list of shows that I want to watch and have just not been able to find the time for: Daredevil‘s second season, My Crazy Ex-Girlfriend, Hap and Leonard (the whole season is on my DVR), Bloodlines, Narcos, Catastrophe, Transparent, Outlander, The Knick, and probably many more that didn’t immediately come to mind. I blame Netflix for this – they are cranking out shows way too quickly. I need to take some time off from work just to get caught up. I’m even falling behind at the movies as well – I still haven’t seen Batman v Superman, though I don’t feel too badly about this as I’m sure I’m not going to like it. This is a nightmare. #firstworldproblems

So while I ponder how to be able to watch TV all day and still bring in a paycheck, get yourself caught up on some of the pop culture that you might have missed in the last week.

 

Birthday weekend with the wind beneath my wings begins at the amazing @TheCapeHotel @ThompsonHotels

A post shared by Zach Braff (@zachbraff) on

 

Time for some trailers…….

  • Marvel’s Doctor Strange:

 

  • Game of Thrones:

 

  • Rogue One: A Star Wars Story:

 

  • Suicide Squad:

 

  • Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them:

 

  • Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles 2:

 

  • Bloodline, season 2:

 

  • Life on the Road:

 

  • The Family Fang:

 

  • Maron, season 4:

 

  • Star Fox Zero:

 

  • Neighbors 2: Sorority Rising (red band trailer):

 

  • Manhattan Night:

 

  • Comedy Central’s Time Traveling Bong:

 

  • The Bye Bye Man:

 

 

As always, we end with the mashups and supercuts…..

  • The Force Awakens syncs up nicely with Dark Side of the Moon:

 

  • A Justin Bieber soap opera:

 

  • The band BABYMETAL combines J-Pop with death metal:

 

 

 

 

  • Friends Awakens:

 

  • Beethoven vs Led Zepplin on cello:

 

unnamed

 

  • A bluegrass cover of the Game of Thrones theme:

 

  • And finally, The Hogwarts Club:
Leave a Reply

