Pop Culture Odds and Ends – Crankypants edition

Pop-Culture-608x500

So it appears that today is going to be “just one of those days” when things don’t go quite right and I have to constantly fight the urge to not be cranky. Right now I’m losing that battle, but I also haven’t had my first cup of coffee yet, which may be enough to help keep the crankiness at bay. I don’t know if there was some sort of team meeting yesterday when everyone decided to do what they could to make my life more difficult today, but if so, y’all are killing it. I’m not even having a bad day per se – just a bunch of little moments of annoyance that are slowly testing my patience. Today my spirit animal is this guy:

Photo: Peter Kramer/NBC/NBC NewsWire

Photo: Peter Kramer/NBC/NBC NewsWire

But one thing that doesn’t make me cranky is pop culture; I even managed to get the roundup done ahead of schedule, which does help turn my frown upside down. As usual, I’m tried to curate that the best that the world of pop has had to offer in the last week. Basically I surf the web so you don’t have to and I hope this provides you with a one-stop shop for all your pop culture needs. So while you are thanking your lucky stars that you don’t have to deal with me today IRL, celebrate by catching yourself up on all the pop culture that you might have missed.

The most cardio I've done in years!!#TimeForPizza #Asterix&Obelix @asterix_astrikur

A post shared by Hafþór Júlíus Björnsson (@thorbjornsson) on

 

let's do this

 

billboard

da851a7d3fbc64e514db6c76587cfbf5

Its-Not-Going-to-Happen-Mean-Girls

giphy

Time for some trailers….

  • Assassin’s Creed:

 

  • Preacher:

 

  • Yoga Hosers:

 

  • Outcast:

 

  • Fox’s Rocky Horror Picture Show update:

 

  • Nerve:

 

  • The BFG:

 

  • A Red-band trailer for Swiss Army Man:

 

  • Hell or High Water:

 

  • Mr. Robot, season 2:

 

  • Into the Forest:

 

  • Mariah’s World:

 

  • Netflix’s Voltron: Legendary Defender:

 

  • 30 Years of Garbage: The Garbage Pail Kids Story:

 

  • USA’s series Shooter:

 

  • Falling Water:

 

  • Billy Lynn’s Long Halftime Walk:

 

  • Café Society:

 

 

 

As always, we end with the mashups and supercuts….

  • A vintage Jazz cover of Ginuwine’s “Pony”:

 

  • A LEGO version of the X-Men: Apocalypse trailer:

 

  • Greatest birds in movies:

 

  • The Lonely Island, Jimmy Fallon, and The Roots perform “I’m On A Boat” with classroom instruments:

 

  • Justin Timberlake and Anna Kendrick cover “True Colors”:

 

  • This doo-wop version of “My Heart Will Go On” makes this song actually tolerable:

 

  • Matthew McConaughey making noises:

 

  • James Hetfield performs a country version of “Motorbreath”:

 

  • Barolo Colon in The Natural:

 

  • Captain American: Civil War Reenactors:

 

  • And finally, Face/Off re-cut as a spaghetti western:
Leave a Reply

