Pop Culture Odds and Ends – It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia Edition

Pop-Culture-608x500

I decided to spend part of my Memorial Day weekend on a quick getaway to Philadelphia. I’ve only been to Philly a handful of times prior and I was primarily there for a singular purpose (baseball game or concert), so I haven’t done any of the more touristy things that one would do or really gotten the chance to explore the city. I managed to fit in a lot in my brief 26 hours in the city, crossing off old standbys like visiting Independence Hall and the Liberty Bell. I also managed to soak up a little pop culture by running briskly jogging up the Rocky steps in front of the Philadelphia Museum of Art.

Rocky-Steps-69289

Not far from the steps is the Rocky statue. Pro tip – the couple that seems to be organizing tourists and offering to take photos don’t actually have any official capacity to do so. They are just people hustling for money and will yell at you if you don’t tip them.

#Rocky statue

A post shared by Heather Trela (@htrela) on

 

I also checked out Eastern State Penitentiary, which I went to just because I thought it looked cool and would be interesting (which it was), but also turned out to be the filming location for the movie 12 Monkeys, as well as various music videos. This means Brad Pitt, Bruce Willis, and I were all occupied the same space, though sadly not at the same time.

1427465553-twelve-monkeys

The prison has been featured on MTV’s Fear and on Ghost Hunters. I’m usually a pretty tough nut to crack – I love horror movies and am never scared by them – but this place legitimately freaked me out a little. It’s oddly beautiful, but there is also a very creepy vibe that hovers over the entire place.

Hospital wing #Philly

A post shared by Heather Trela (@htrela) on

 

View of the cell block

A post shared by Heather Trela (@htrela) on

 

It doesn’t help that you are wandering around with headphones on, so your senses are a little off and you aren’t as aware of your surroundings. I found it fascinating, but I also am pretty sure that there is no way in hell you could talk me into going back for their Terror Behind the Walls tours during Halloween.

nope

But enough about my travels. On to more important things – the pop culture roundup. As always, I’ve found the best that the world of pop culture has to offer. So while I catch up after my mini-getaway, get yourself up to speed on the pop culture that you might have missed.

1RAJ_f-maxage-0

tumblr_o38ccs2KJF1v0cny1o2_500

 

haters

Time for some trailers…..

  • The Infiltrator:

 

  • BoJack Horseman, season 3:

 

  • The Space Between Us:

 

  • Marauders:

 

  • Sharknado: The 4th Awakens:

 

  • The Little Prince:

 

  • Roadies:

 

  • The Fundamentals of Caring:

 

  • Wiener-Dog:

 

  • James Franco’s Mother, May I Sleep With Danger:

 

  • Monster Trucks:

 

shrug

 

https _blueprint-api-production.s3.amazonaws.com_uploads_card_image_103351_edsheeranlookalike

As always, we end with the mashups and supercuts:

MST3K

640

5745cc3f130000d605382ba5

  • X-Men meets Lifestyles of the Rich and Famous:

 

  • I’d probably like Star Wars if this was representative of the Storm Troopers:

 

  • Bruce Springsteen and Bono sing “Because the Night”:

 

  • Obama sings Rihanna:

 

  • The first and last appearance of characters in Tarantino films:

 

  • A vintage jazz version of Biggie’s ”Juicy”:

 

  • And finally, Finding Nemo told in emoji:
Leave a Reply

