Pop Culture Odds and Ends – Jury Duty Edition

Pop-Culture-608x500

Well my luck finally ran out. Yesterday I came home to a jury summons in my mailbox. I have no idea when it actually arrived, as I have a bad habit of forgetting to check my mail since I pay all my bills online and unless it’s Christmas or my birthday I don’t receive much of interest. I could ask for a six month extension, but I’d have to actually call someone to do that and that just seems like too much of a hassle. There’s no real reason that I can’t do this next week, so I might as well just go and get it over with. I actually think being on a jury might be interesting, but the idea of being out of work for a prolonged time gives me anxiety. I have a hard enough time taking more than two days off to actually go on vacation. If it’s a couple of days I’ll be fine, but with my luck I’ll wind up on a case like the O.J Simpson trial.

My theory is that even if I do have to go in that I’m unlikely to actually be picked for a jury because of my background – my doctoral studies were in public law and I used to teach classes on civil liberties and constitutional law. Honestly, they are probably better off without me because there is a legitimate chance that I might go all Runaway Jury on them.

Prison

Worst case scenario, I can borrow from the Liz Lemon playbook:

jury duty

So while I look into borrowing someone’s Princess Leia costume, entertain yourself with this week’s pop culture roundup. I’ve pulled together the best that the world of pop had to offer to help you get caught up on some of the stuff you might have missed.

 

 

Jon-Hamm-And-Archer

Michaelscottfacepalm1

so-youre-telling-me-theres-a-chance

Time for some trailers….

  • Ghostbusters international trailer:

 

  • Season two of Another Period:

 

  • Yoga Hosers:

 

  • Norman Lear: Just Another Version of You:

 

  • Vice Principals:

 

  • Comedians in Cars Getting Coffee, season 8:

 

  • Man vs Snake:

 

  • Atlanta:

 

  • Julia’s Greenroom:

 

  • Phantom Boy:

 

  • Breaking A Monster:

 

 

As Always, we end with the mashups and supercuts….

  • Every Stanley Kubrick reference on The Simpsons:

 

  • A 1920s style cover of “Never Forget You”:

 

  • A Whiplash remix:

 

  • Guy Fieri eating to Johnny Cash’s “Hurt”:

 

  • Rebel Wilson was Ursula at The Little Mermaid at the Hollywood Bowl:

 

  • Metallica performed the national anthem before game 4 of the Stanley Cup playoffs:

 

  • This low-budget version of the Game of Thrones opening credits is terrible, but charming:

 

  • Blink 182 on the ukulele:

 

  • A supercut of movie moments that will make you cry:

 

fetch

FAT

obsessed

sitwithus

Leave a Reply

