Pop Culture Odds and Ends – Battle of the Bastards Aftermath Edition

Pop-Culture-608x500

I don’t know about you guys, but I’m still reeling from last week’s episode of Game of Thrones. No spoilers, but that was intense; I had so many emotions running through my system and I couldn’t sit still. At one point, I moved from sitting on my perfectly comfortable couch to sitting on my living room floor, just because that put me closer to the TV. I don’t know why exactly I felt like I needed to be closer to the TV, but it had to be done. Every week I look forward to Sunday nights just so I can watch Game of Thrones and I’m so sad that another season is almost over. I swear, the fastest 10 weeks of the year are when that show is on. And then the very long break begins as we wait for the new season. That bums me out just thinking about it.

But one thing that you can count on to help you through the dark days of no Game of Thrones is the pop culture roundup. It’s been a crazy week and there’s probably a lot you missed, so this is a one stop shop to turn you into a pop culture expert. So kick back, relax and get your pop culture groove on with this week’s roundup.

 

 

 

 

 

Time for some trailers….

  • Next year’s Oscar contender (you heard it here first), The Birth of a Nation:

 

  • Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children:

 

  • Ben-Hur:

 

  • The Fundamentals of Caring:

 

  • David Brent: Life on the Road:

 

  • All Eyez on Me:

 

  • The Lovers and the Despot:

 

  • Westworld:

 

  • Ron Howard’s documentary, The Beatles: Eight Days A Week:

 

  • The Strain, season 3:

 

  • Difficult People, season 2:

 

  • Storks:

 

  • The Young Pope:

 

  • Outlaws and Angels:

 

  • Ozzy & Jack’s World Detour:

 

  • Almost Christmas:

 

  • Middle School: The Worst Years of My Life:

 

  • Gleason:

 

  • Morris From America:

 

  • American Honey:

 

  • Roseanne For President:

 

  • The Girl With All The Gifts:

 

  • Pistol Shrimps:

 

  • Looking: The Movie:

 

  • I, Daniel Blake:

 

 

As always, we end with the mashups and supercuts….

  • DJ Earworm’s Summermash ‘16:

 

  • They Might Be Giants meets Star Wars: The Force Awakens:

 

  • Here’s Michael Shannon lip-syncing “It’s the End of the World”:

 

  • If Game of Thrones, season 6 episode 9 took place entirely on Snapchat:

 

  • A vintage cover of “Black Hole Son”:

 

  • I expect this watermelon Night King at my next BBQ:

 

  • The evolution of Pixar:

 

  • Ghostbusters vs Luke Skywalker:

 

  • American Psycho with a female lead:

 

  • I have been this person:

 

  • Doom 2 meets Seinfeld’s apartment:

 

  • The Wellington International Ukulele Orchestra covers “The Boys Are Back In Town”:

 

  • Star Squad:

 

  • Jon Snow’s Play of the Game:

 

I love, love, love this reimagining of Hamilton as a video game – especially the “….and Peggy” bonus round:

tumblr_o8tmh6QFfc1qdj4v3o2_1280

tumblr_o8tmh6QFfc1qdj4v3o6_1280

  • And finally, Barney covers “Big Poppa”:
Leave a Reply

