Pop Culture Odds and Ends – Be Careful What You Wish For Edition

Pop-Culture-608x500

So after a few weeks of complaining that I’ve had nothing to do, my social calendar has suddenly kicked into high gear in the last week. Since the 4th of July weekend, I’ve been pretty busy and there isn’t much of a slowdown in sight. I’ll be away back to back weekends and then, after a short respite, I’ll be off to Atlanta and then Washington DC. I’m thrilled to be busy, but I’d forgotten how exhausting it can be to be, in the words of Hamilton, non-stop. I’ll take a little fatigue over boredom any day, however; it’s good to be back in the groove of my crazy hectic life.

The world of pop culture also seems to be kicking into high gear as it bounces back from a slow holiday weekend. Pokemon Go certainly has helped (signs that I’m old – I refuse to play the game because I’m worried about using up my data); my office is across from the biggest park in the city,which it is apparently a hotbed for Pokemon hunting based on the sudden uptick of people I see out there wandering around with their cell phones. So if you’ve fallen behind on the rest of the pop culture while you out there trying to capture Pidgey or Jigglypuff ( I looked those up), the roundup is hear to get you all caught up.

 

 

 

 

Time for some trailers…..

  • Table 19:

 

  • Other People:

 

  • The Intervention:

 

  • Loving:

 

  • Atlanta:

 

  • Ash vs Evil Dead:

 

  • Last Chance U:

 

  • Rebirth:

 

  • White Girl (NSFW):

 

  • Ballers, season two:

 

  • Goat:

 

  • Sing:

 

  • Edge of Winter:

 

  • I Am Not A Serial Killer:

 

  • Blood Father:

 

  • Five Nights in Maine:

 

 

 

 

As always, we end with the mashups and supercuts….

  • A Norwegian metal makeover of the Friends theme song:

 

  • New Yorkers vs. The MetroCard:

 

  • Batcat v Supercat:

 

  • Alabama Shakes covered The Backstreet Boys:

 

  • St. Vincent made the Golden Girls theme song a dirge:

 

  • Star Wars: The Force Awakens meets Monty Python and the Holy Grail:

 

  • This weather forecast is sunny with a chance of Ghostbusters:

 

  • Meowtallica:

 

  • A Suicide Squad-inspired Game of Thrones trailer:

 

  • I always suspected Bugs Bunny was a Tupac fan:

 

tumblr_llu364BKS31qk2t5co1_r1_500

 

tumblr_o6l8wsPNcj1qk2t5co2_r1_1280

 

tumblr_o7qy1xWtOG1qk2t5co1_1280

 

tumblr_o95bir2R0c1qk2t5co2_r1_1280

Leave a Reply

