Pop Culture Odds and Ends – Summertime Cold Edition

Pop-Culture-608x500

It never fails – any time that I fly anywhere, I come down with some sort of illness immediately afterward. I guess my immune system is not up to the challenge of breathing in hundred of people’s germs in recycled air. It probably doesn’t help that I went from the sweltering heat to frigid air conditioning while I was in Atlanta and then came home to weather that can’t seem to quite make up its mind about what season this is. Ugh – all I know is that I feel lousy and I just want to spend all day in bed, sleeping off this nasty cold. Of course that would require me taking a sick day, which I am even less likely to take than a vacation day, so I soldier on.  It’s making it hard to get very excited about my trip to DC this weekend. No rest for the weary.

But enough about my sniffling and sneezing – the world of pop culture doesn’t slow down just because I do. Even if I’m under the weather, I was still able to pull together all the pop culture stories that you might have missed in the last seven days. There’s a lot of pop culture goodness in here for you, so while I OD on cold medicine, check out this week’s roundup.

sad

anchorman-yes-jumping

tumblr_noqcsiGNIt1u7zqzwo1_500

 

 

 

Time for some trailers….

  • Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children:

 

  • The Great Wall:

 

  • Split:

 

  • Mary + Jane:

 

  • Office Christmas Party:

 

  • Ithaca:

 

  • The Accountant:

 

  • Hacksaw Ridge:

 

  • American Horror Story teasers:

 

  • Masterminds:

 

  • Divorce:

 

  • Pete’s Dragon:

 

  • The Edge of Seventeen:

 

  • Beat Bugs:

 

  • StartUp:

 

  • Fearless:

 

  • The Beatles: Eight Days A Week:

 

  • The Handmaiden:

 

  • Beauty and the Beast:

 

  • No Man’s Sky:

 

tumblr_m6yta2GTPb1qh2o7zo1_500

 

As always, we end with the mashups and supercuts…

  • Stranger Things as a 80s sitcom:

 

  • Inappropriate moments in James Bond movies:

 

  • An It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia fan examines whether Dennis is a serial killer:

 

  • A New Orleans Brass Band cover of “Can’t Stop the Feeling”:

 

  • The evolution of Matt Damon:

 

  • Metallica takes on the Pokémon theme:

 

  • Pokémon Go imagined as an episode of Black Mirror:

 

  • The Jason Bourne trailer reimagined as an 8-bit video game:

 

  • I would watch the hell out of Quentin Tarantino’s Suicide Squad:

 

  • Meet the Parents recut as a thriller:

 

  • And finally, the cast of Sesame Street performs “Summertime”:
Leave a Reply

