Pop Culture Odds and Ends – Are the Olympics Over Yet Edition

Pop-Culture-608x500

This is a rough time of the year for me. As I’ve written before, unlike the rest of the world I don’t give a hoot about the Olympics. It just doesn’t interest me at all  and yet I cannot get away from it. Even with my valiant attempts to avoid any sort of coverage, I still know a lot about what’s going on. My friends made me watch parts of the opening ceremonies just to torture me (they also made me watch parts of the Mets game – that was a brutal night). Nothing else is really on TV. It’s all that people want to talk about. The Olympics are everywhere. This must be what it’s like to be someone who doesn’t watch Game of Thrones.

The Olympics have even crept into my sanctuary of pop culture. Putting together this week’s roundup meant wading into the Internet where Olympics coverage lives. For every article about what’s happening at the Television Critics Association press tour, I had to sidestep stories about the Internet falling in love with the flag bearer from Tonga. But for you guys I’m willing to make this sacrifice. So if you need a break from pretending to care about badminton, get yourself get caught up what was going on in the world of pop culture.

 

This is my final week of shooting #FastAndFurious8. There's no other franchise that gets my blood boiling more than this one. An incredible hard working crew. UNIVERSAL has been great partners as well. My female co-stars are always amazing and I love 'em. My male co-stars however are a different story. Some conduct themselves as stand up men and true professionals, while others don't. The ones that don't are too chicken shit to do anything about it anyway. Candy asses. When you watch this movie next April and it seems like I'm not acting in some of these scenes and my blood is legit boiling – you're right. Bottom line is it'll play great for the movie and fits this Hobbs character that's embedded in my DNA extremely well. The producer in me is happy about this part😉. Final week on FAST 8 and I'll finish strong. #IcemanCometh #F8 #ZeroToleranceForCandyAsses

A post shared by therock (@therock) on

 

Time for some trailers….

  • Luke Cage:

 

  • Moana:

 

  • Mascots:

 

  • Transparent season 3:

 

  • Goliath:

 

  • One Mississippi:

 

  • Fleabag:

 

  • Debate Wars:

 

  • RuPaul’s Drag Race All Stars season two:

 

  • I Am Not A Serial Killer:

 

  • Storks:

 

  • Resident Evil: The Final Chapter:

 

  • Brother Nature:

 

  • The Rocky Horror Picture Show:

 

  • Mariah’s World:

 

  • One More Time with Feeling:

 

  • Chance:

 

  • XOXO:

 

  • 24×36: A Movie About Movie Posters:

 

  • Lace Crater:

 

  • Antibirth:

 

  • Klown Forever:

 

  • Two Lovers and a Bear:

 

 

JC's 40th… And, if you don't know now you know…

A post shared by Justin Timberlake (@justintimberlake) on

 

As always, we end with the mashups and supercuts…..

  • Bill Burr “narrates” Keeping Up With The Kardashians:

 

  • A supercut of all the spells in the Harry Potter movies, in alphabetical order:

 

  • The Pokémon theme in 20 different styles of the late 90s:

 

tumblr_oblu01nfgA1vcpbzio1_1280

 

unnamed

 

  • A supercut of noises made by Kanye:

 

  • Here’s Lin-Manuel Miranda and The Rock singing a little Beauty and the Beast:

 

  • LEGO Suicide Squad:

 

  • Pearl Jam cover Aerosmith:

 

  • Kids recreate scenes from Real Housewives of Atlanta:

 

  • 80s movies loved dance sequences:

 

  • Morgan Freeman narrates a pedestrian on Hollywood Boulevard:

 

  • Matthew McConaughey tells a story:

 

  • And finally, the movies sing “Pretty Fly (for a White Guy)”:
Leave a Reply

