#Fav7Films

If you’re active on Twitter, you may have noticed that the hashtag #Fav7Films was trending last week as people were sharing their 7 favorite films. Some people took this seriously, while others had some fun with it, but it was an interesting look at the movies that are nearest and dearest to the Internet’s heart. UPROXX did a roundup of the 10 movies that were named most, and it’s not super surprising to see the usual suspects (but not The Usual Suspects) make the cut. Celebrities even joined in on the fun, giving a little insight into the movies that actors, musicians and other creative people like the most. The more cynical Twitter users even created a template for how people selected their favorite 7 movies:

I had a surprisingly hard time coming up with my list; the first few entries were no-brainers, but as I tried to finish out my list I began to struggle with what movies I actually are my favorite and what criteria I would use to determine that. There are movies that I think are breathtaking and amazing, but that I’d never watch again because they are just too emotionally taxing. There are other movies that I’ve watched a lot, but mostly because they are mindless entertainment and familiar rather than what I would necessarily consider my favorite. Like most people, I suspect that some of these selections would change depending on when you asked me; some of the movies that I’d say were my favorites five years ago didn’t make the cut now. So while some of these films I suspect will be on my list for eternity, others may drop off and be replaces with new favorites. I’m nothing if not constantly evolving.

So with all those caveats in place, here are my #Fav7Films (in no particular order):

  1. Goodfellas
  2. Pulp Fiction
  3. The Shawshank Redemption
  4. The Godfather
  5. Rear Window
  6. Heathers
  7. Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind

Ask me ten more times and I’m guessing that the final three would probably change ten more times; the top four are pretty unwavering and have been my favorites forever. Fight Club nearly cracked the top 7 as did any variety of comedies. I haven’t re-watched Eternal Sunshine in a while, so there is a chance that will no longer resonate with me as much as it has in the past. But if you put a gun to my head (please don’t) right now, these would be my answers.

Now it’s your turn – what cracks your top 7? Let us know in the comments.

Leave a Reply

