Pop Culture Odds and Ends – Back to School Edition

Pop-Culture-608x500

It’s the first day of school today in my neck of the woods, which doesn’t mean much to me personally other than the fun game of avoiding school buses on my commute into work has once again commenced. I drive by two schools on my way to work and a few minute difference can be the difference between getting to work on time and being super late. But I do enjoy seeing my Facebook feed blow up with all the obligatory back to school photos; I don’t know how it’s possible that I’m staying the same age and all my friends’ kids keep getting older. It’s a modern miracle.

I do know that back to school usually means a chaotic week or so in most households, so I’m here to get you caught up on all the pop culture that you might have missed while you were buying school supplies and trying to get your kids to get out of bed before noon. As always, I’ve searched high and low to bring you the best that the world of pop has to offer.

Television

big-bang-theory-i-need-help

enhanced-buzz-20547-1359362818-3

oliver

tumblr_nan9omrpqx1rx3q30o1_500

 

Movies

jon-stewart-seriously-reaction-gif

 

Trailers

  • Shut In:

 

  • Certain Women:

 

  • The Young Pope:

 

  • Max Steel:

 

  • Mascots:

 

  • 31:

 

  • Cardboard Boxer:

 

  • Morgan:

 

  • ARQ:

 

  • Easy:

 

  • Chef’s Table: France:

 

  • Elle:

 

Music

tumblr_nz5hbbfrfw1ubszlfo1_250

 

Theater

 

Stand-up

 

Books

 

Odds and Ends

 

Mashups and Supercuts

  • Stranger Things meets “People Are Strange”:

 

  • A jazz cover of CeeLo’s “Forget You”:

 

  • Tim Curry laughing supercut:

 

  • James Corden and Danny McBride recreate Michael Bolton and Kenny G’s 1990s Grammy’s performance:

 

dustinhttps-_blueprint-api-production-s3-amazonaws-com_uploads_card_image_198235_eleven

 

 

  • What if Zack Snyder adapted classic works of literature?

 

  • If Disney princesses were on The Bachelor:

 

  • Stranger Things and Twin Peaks theme song mashup:

 

  • And finally, everyone dances to “Can’t Stop The Feeling”:

 

 

Leave a Reply

