Bob Dylan

bob-dylan-smoke-hd-wallpapers

It was announced this morning that American singer/songwriter/poet Bob Dylan was the recipient of the 2016 Nobel Prize for Literature. I guess the committee was not aware of my blog 😉  Regardless, it’s a well-deserved honor for a man who, in the words of the committee, has “created new poetic expressions within the great American song tradition.”

I have no idea when I first heard Bob Dylan, but I feel like he’s been part of the soundtrack of my life for as long as I can remember. Yes, he is sometimes hard to understand, but when you break down his lyrics they can be absolutely beautiful. I’m obviously too young to have been around when Dylan was in his heyday, but his songs don’t sound dated and are still remarkably relevant. One of my few concert regrets is that I’ve never seen Bob Dylan live; it’s always seemed like too risky of an endeavor, as his stage show in this phase of his life is reportedly very uneven. You may seem him put on an amazing show or you may hear him ramble unintelligibly for two hours. I’m just not willing to roll the dice and have a bad experience; I’d rather have the Dylan of my mp3s and vinyl and not chance tarnishing the high esteem that I hold him in.

So in honor of his prestigious award, here’s a look at my top 5 all-time favorite Bob Dylan songs:

  • “Hurricane” –  Desire

 

  • “Lay Lady Lay” – Nashville Skyline

 

  • “Rainy Day Women #12 & 35” – Blonde on Blonde

 

  • “It Ain’t Me Babe” – Another Side of Bob Dylan

 

  • “Tangled Up in Blue” – Blood On the Tracks

 

Leave a Reply

