Pop Culture Odds and Ends – I Heart NY Edition

Pop-Culture-608x500

I probably should just move to NYC at this point, right?

My friend Amanda has been telling me this for years; she even has my neighborhood picked out (Chelsea). And I have to admit that there is a certain logic to it, given how much time I spend in the city and how much I love being there. I’m on my way there today, one of my last trips this year. Sadly the day job is putting a major damper on this trip, but I’m still trying to make the most of it. I’ll be flying solo for a lot of the time, which I do kind of love – it’s great spending time with my friends, but it’s also nice to have the freedom to do all the silly stuff that I like to do, like chase down art installations/street art and eat weird stuff that doesn’t necessarily appeal to everyone else. If I want to spend 3 hours trying to locate some graffiti or walk 20 blocks out of the way to try a cupcake ATM (both things that have actually happened), I am free to do so. And honestly nothing makes me happier than waking up in NYC, even if I have to cut the trip short because I am apparently the only person who can do anything around the office.

But I’d hate to leave my family and the friends that I have here and despite my current annoyance I do enjoy my job. I’m also convinced that as much as I love NYC that it would lose some of its appeal if I actually lived in NYC. Right now, it’s a perfect little getaway that gives me a reprieve from my normal life. The reality of day to day life in the city would be a lot different. The cruel irony is that living in NYC would meant that I probably couldn’t afford most of what I like to do in the city; the harsh reality is that I most likely wouldn’t be living in Chelsea, or even Manhattan or Brooklyn in general because I would be priced out. Wah-wah.

Never disappointing – the pop culture roundup. See what you might have missed in the last week.

Television

tumblr_inline_n6ma3t1isu1qhgk1x

baseball

post-59217-jon-stewart-that-cant-be-good-cwlu

 

Movies

capital-idea

tumblr_inline_o7us5atnru1qi1jvj_540

Trailers

  • A teaser trailer for Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2:

 

  • Gilmore Girls: A Year in the Life:

 

  • Logan:

 

  • Nocturnal Animals:

 

  • Legion:

 

  • Arrival:

 

  • Always Shine:

 

  • Come and Find Me:

 

  • Barry:

 

  • Loving Vincent:

 

  • Nashville on CMT:

 

  • I am the Pretty Thing That Lives in the House:

 

  • Red Dead Redemption 2:

 

  • A Cure for Wellness:

 

  • Incarnate:

 

Music

adzbgze

 

Books

 

Theater

 

Stand-up

 

Odds and Ends

 

Mashups and Supercuts

  • Top 10 horror movie deaths of all-time:

 

  • The movies sing the Friends theme song:

 

  • A Vintage 1940s version of Maroon 5’s “This Love”:

 

  • Rapping with Tom Hanks:

 

  • Kings of Leon covered Selena Gomez:

 

  • Cher and James Corden update “I Got You Babe” for the modern era:

 

  • Tom Cruise and James Corden recreated some of Cruise’s iconic roles:

 

  • Weird Al takes on the final presidential debate:

 

  • Miss Piggy busts out a little Lauryn Hill:

 

  • And finally, a trick or treat TV supercut:
Leave a Reply

