Pop Culture Odds and Ends – Game 7 Edition

Pop-Culture-608x500I’ll admit that this year I kind of checked out on baseball. My Yankees just weren’t very good and I was a little emotionally exhausted from going to so many retirement ceremonies and final games for the players that I had been watching since I got into baseball. I needed a break; I didn’t go to a single Yankee game this year and the two games I did go to (Atlanta and Washington DC) I wasn’t all that engaged in. But I have to say that the playoffs have really drawn me back in, especially the Cubs historic run into the World Series. I love an underdog – I am a Buffalo Bills fan after all – so I’m always rooting for the Cubs to break their curse and finally win the Wold Series again. I don’t know that they’ll actually pull that off tonight as Cleveland has been more than a worthy opponent, but it’s been kind of thrilling to watch. My only complaint is that I am old and these games last too long. I’ve been exhausted for weeks. Whoever walks away the champion tonight, it’s been a fun ride and it has reinvigorated my love of baseball. Now the Yankees just have to be good next year. Hope spring eternal.

But even if you aren’t into baseball, you can still be excited since it’s also pop culture roundup day. And who doesn’t love that? As usual, I’ve scoured high and low to bring you the best that the world of pop culture had to offer in the last week. So get yourself caught up….and Go Cubs go!

Television

gkdko

gallery-1472483429-cat-l

minions

Movies

wait-what

Trailers

  • Billy Lynn’s Long Halftime Walk:

 

  • 24: Legacy:

 

  • Life:

 

  • Rules Don’t Apply:

 

  • The Crown:

 

  • Dreamland:

 

  • Split:

 

  • Frank & Lola:

 

  • The Eyes of My Mother:

 

  • xXx: The Return of Xander Cage:

 

  • Gifted:

 

  • David Blaine: Beyond Magic:

 

  • Fuller House, season 2:

 

  • 20th Century Woman:

 

Music

Books

Theater

Halloween Leftovers

Odds and Ends

superthumb

unnamed

 

Mashups and Supercuts

  • In honor of the World Series, a fictional Cubs/Indians mashup:

 

  • Tina Turner meets Queen:

 

  • Bryan Cranston does a dramatic reading of Little Mix’s song, “Shout Out To My Ex”:

 

  • Quantico’s Jay Armstrong Johnson paid tribute to Hocus Pocus:

 

  • The Ghostbusters theme played on pumpkins:

 

  • David S. Pumpkins makes every movie scarier:

 

  • SPOILERS A LEGO recreation of the deaths in The Walking Dead season premiere:

 

  • The Goonies recut as a thriller:

 

  • A Stranger Things Christmas:
Leave a Reply

