Pop Culture Odds and Ends – Let’s All Go To The Movies Edition

Pop-Culture-608x500

You may have noticed that movie reviews lately have been few and far between on the blog. That’s because for some reason I just haven’t been going to the movies as often as I used to. There’s absolutely no good reason for this, other than the fact that up until recently there haven’t been a lot of movies that I have been all that psyched to see. Now there’s a bunch of movies that I’m looking forward to, but now I need to try and squeeze them all in before they disappear from the cinema. I’m woefully behind on my early Oscar Death Race prep; while most of the movies that are likely to be nominated haven’t been released yet, I should have been trying to get some of the potential foreign films and documentaries out of the way. Moonlight is a shoe-in for a bunch of nominations, but the showtimes have made it difficult for me to see. Thankfully most television shows wrap up their fall season next week (if they haven’t already), so I can fully commit to returning to the mulitplex on a more regular basis. I love going to the movies when I’m there, but sometimes getting myself to the theater is the larger battle. But I do love a challenge and I’ve never actually completed the Oscar Death Race of seeing ALL the nominees in every category, so that’s a motivator. So get ready for a barrage of movie reviews; that used to be the bread and butter of the blog so we’re going back to basics.  And now that it’s in writing, I can’t back out.

And now…..on to the weekly pop culture roundup……

Television

 

Movies

Trailers

  • Guardians of the Galaxy Vol.2:

 

  • Sherlock series 4:

 

  • The Belko Experiment:

 

  • Lemony Snicket’s A Series of Unfortunate Events:

 

  • The Circle:

 

  • Spectral:

 

  • Fist Fight:

 

  • Big Little Lies:

 

  • Office Christmas Party:

 

  • Sleight:

 

  • Death Stranding:

 

  • The Autopsy of Jane Doe:

 

  • Legion:

 

  • The Mummy:

 

  • Season 2 of Con Man:

 

  • Nashville season 5:

 

  • Transformers: The Last Knight:

 

  • Almost Paris:

 

  • Chasing Cameron:

 

  • Floyd Norman: An Animated Life:

 

Music

Theater

Books

Stand-Up

Odds and Ends

 

Mashups and Supercuts

  • What if Wes Anderson directed The Witch:

 

  • Wheatus’ “Teenage Dirtbag” in the style of Janis Joplin:

 

  • Chance the Rapper’s favorite improvised noises:

 

  • A mashup of movies that were released in 2016:

 

  • The apocalypse, as told by movies:

 

  • A metal remix of “All I Want for Christmas is You”:

 

  • Literal Bohemian Rhapsody:

 

Leave a comment