Pop Culture Odds and Ends – Netflix at Lunch Edition

Pop-Culture-608x500

One of my pop culture resolutions for this year was to make better use of my lunch hour at work by a) actually talking a lunch hour and b) using that time to watch Netflix on my phone. We’re only three weeks into 2017, but so far I’m really enjoying this change. I find that I am a lot less grumpy when I actually walk away from my desk for an hour and that despite my worries, the world does in fact keep spinning if I don’t answer an email during that time. Who knew? It feels kind of decadent to spend an hour watching Netflix; it almost feels like I’m playing hooky. And it’s been productive – I’ve already made it through the entire first season of The Crown and Bloodline, though I have watched some episodes at home. But it’s reminded me of all the great content on Netflix and I’m now taking better advantage of my subscription. So all in all, this is a net positive for me. Resolutions can be good!

Today we take a break from the plethora of movie reviews that I’ve been posting to check in on pop culture news with this week’s roundup. As usual, there is a little bit of something for everyone this week. So while I look forward to my daily oasis of Netflix, get yourself caught up on the pop culture that you might have missed.

Television

 

 

Movies

Trailers

  • XX:

 

  • Clinical:

 

  • Dark Knight:

 

  • Cars 3:

 

  • Better Call Saul, season 3:

 

  • Wilson:

 

  • Santa Clarita Diet:

 

  • Girlfriend’s Day:

 

  • iBoy:

 

  • CHiPs:

 

  • Sleight:

 

  • Snatch:

 

  • Manifesto:

 

  • The WWE and The Jetsons teamed up for some reason:

 

  • My Life as a Zucchini:

 

  • Tangled: Before Ever After:

 

  • Riverdale:

 

  • Clowntergiest:

 

  • Raw:

Music

Theater

Books

Stand-up

Odds and Ends

Mashups and Supercuts

  • Ed Sheeran covered the Fresh Prince theme:

 

  • The devolution of Rickety Cricket on It’s Always Sunny:

 

  • Jazz versions of “Hedwig’s Theme” from Harry Potter:

 

  • Super Mario Bros. gets a Martin Scorsese trailer:

 

  • How all the Pixar movies are connected:

 

  • Game of Thrones theme on cellos:

 

  • Jessica Biel and Bryan Cranston star in a Kanye West soap opera:

 

  • Daveed Diggs raps “Rubber Duckie”:

 

  • Celebrities sing “I Will Survive”:

 

  • President Obama and Vice President Biden meet Shawshank Redemption:
Leave a Reply

