Pop Culture Odds and Ends – Hulu Binge Edition

Pop-Culture-608x500

Last weekend all my plans fell through, so I had a lot of free time on my hands. That is both a good and a bad thing, as I am a person who enjoys being on the move and being busy, but sometimes you need to slow down to catch your breath. So much to the annoyance of my knockoff fitbit, I spend most of the weekend sitting – either in the movie theater (I saw three movies) or on my couch. This seemed like as good a time as any to check out some network comedies that I had heard a lot about – The Good Place and Black-ish, both of which were available on Hulu. I enjoyed both of them a lot – I started with The Good Place since it only had 12 episodes and I’d heard rumblings of a game-changing season finale that I didn’t want to get spoiled for me.  I’m still working my way through Black-ish, since I decided to start with the pilot episode and then work my way through to the current season. I still have a ways to go – network seasons are so long! – but it’s been an enjoyable ride. I really need new shows like a hole in the head, but I’m glad I tried them both.

I’m also glad that it’s Wednesday, which is everyone’s favorite day on the blog – pop culture roundup day! As usual, I’ve looked high and low to curate the best that the world of pop culture news of the last week. So get yourself caught up on all the exciting news that you might have missed.

Television

 

Movies

 

They have a cave troll. @theoneringnet @electrice @boydbilly @orlandobloom @empiremagazine #squadgoals

A post shared by Dominic Monaghan (@dom_monaghan_) on

 

Trailers

  • The final Beauty and the Beast trailer:

 

  • Broadchurch, season 3:

 

  • Bates Motel, the final season:

 

  • The Assignment:

 

  • My Cousin Rachel:

 

  • Catfight:

 

  • Beyond The Edge:

 

  • When The Street Lights Go On:

 

  • Claws:

 

  • 13 Reasons Why:

 

  • Love, season 2:

 

  • In Dubious Battle:

 

  • Wolves:

 

  • Trumped:

 

  • Bokeh:

 

  • Imperial Dreams:

 

Music

Books

Stand-up

Theater

Odds and Ends

 

Mashups and Supercuts

  • The twitter account @WinnieDancing has turned Winnie the Pooh into a dancing machine:

 

 

 

  • The Arthur theme like you’ve never heard it before:

 

 

  • All the movie references in La La Land:

 

  • “Poker Face” gets a Big Band-style makeover:

 

  • Migos rapping a children’s book:

Leave a Reply

