Heather’s Oscar Ballot

2017_oscar_ballot_printable_sugarandcharm_2

For some reason, the Academy of Motion Pictures Arts and Sciences has failed to extend membership to me. Probably some sort of bureaucratic oversight. It’s their loss, really, since they are denied having my insight into what movies and performances deserve an Oscar. But there’s no reason that you should have to suffer because of their short-sightedness, so tonight I present to you who I would have voted for if I had been an Academy member. This isn’t necessarily the same thing as who I think is going to win; I’m going with my heart here and letting the chips fall where they may. I’ve also only made picks for the categories where I have seen the majority of the nominees. So without any further ado, here’s my fantasy Oscar ballot:

Best Picture: Moonlight (La La Land will likely win)

Best Actor: Casey Affleck, Manchester By The Sea

Best Actress: Emma Stone, La La Land

Best Supporting Actor: Marshala Ali, Moonlight

Best Supporting Actress: Viola Davis, Fences

Best Director: Damien Chazelle, La La Land

Best Documentary Feature: OJ: Made in America

Cinematography: La La Land

Costume Design: La La Land

Film Editing: La La Land

Makeup and Hairstyling: A Man Called Ove

Original Score: La La Land

Original Song: How Far I’ll Go,” Moana (Like I’m not picking Lin-Manuel Miranda)

Production Design: La La Land

Sound Editing: Hacksaw Ridge

Visual Effects: The Jungle Book

Original Screenplay: The Lobster

Adapted Screenplay: Moonlight

Leave a Reply

