Pop Culture Odds and Ends – Baby Watch Edition

My sister-in-law is getting close to her due date, which means that I am officially on baby watch. What this basically translates to is that every time that my phone vibrates with a text message, email, Snapchat, Twitter, or Facebook messenger notification, I dive to get to my phone as quickly as possible to see if it bears tidings of my nephew’s impending arrival. I’m pretty popular, so my phone goes off a lot. I’m going to be in amazing shape when this kid finally arrives. So if you want to torture me, randomly message me throughout the day, knowing that wherever I am I am grabbing at my phone like I’m on the Titanic and it’s a life preserver. If you’re especially evil, do it while I’m at work.

So while I (semi)patiently wait to become an auntie, keep yourself occupied with this week’s pop culture roundup. There’s something here for everyone – even newborn babies.

Television

Movies

Trailers

  • Thor: Ragnarok:

 

  • Orange is the New Black, season 5:

 

  • Master of None, season 2:

 

  • Chris Gethard: Career Suicide:

 

  • Atomic Blonde:

 

  • I Love Dick, season 1:

 

  • All Eyez on Me:

 

  • Anne:

 

  • Take Me:

 

  • Rodney King:

 

  • Catastrophe, season 3:

 

  • Enter the Warriors Gate:

 

  • Samantha Bee’s Not the White House Correspondents’ Dinner:

 

  • Sense8, season 2:

 

  • The Mist:

 

  • Chuck:

 

  • I’m Dying Up Here:

 

  • Risk:

 

  • Phoenix Forgotten:

 

Music

Theater

Books

Stand-up

Odds and Ends

 

 

Mashups and Supercuts

  • “Baby Got Back” as a barbershop quartet:

 

  • The Big Pug Theory:

 

  • What if Will Smith starred in The Matrix:

 

  • Morgan Freeman parodies The Shawshank Redemption:

 

  • Sean Spicer gets a Muppets remix:

 

  • “Give It Away Now” in 22 different musical styles:

 

  • Darth Vader loves dad jokes:

 

  • The Golden GIRLS:

 

  • Spider-Man reimagined:

Leave a Reply

