Pop Culture Odds and Ends – Squandering Summer Edition

I feel like I’m not doing summer right this year. I made the conscious decision to not overbook myself this year and to spend more time at home. This was partially a cost savings measure since I’ll probably be in need of a new car soon, but also so I could spend more time with my little nephew.  I didn’t want to miss out on these important few months because I was away. In theory, this was supposed to be a summer when I didn’t miss out on things going on locally and that I would spend more time with my friends here. In practice, that hasn’t much come to fruition – which is partially my fault for not advertising that I am in town. But the invites to BBQs and patio drinking haven’t been pouring in like I hoped and now it’s already the middle of July and I feel like I haven’t accomplished much of anything on my summer time bucket list. So I really need to kick it in gear for these final weeks of summer. I’m going to visit that Game of Thrones bar in DC if it’s the only thing I do.

So while I try to figure out a summer’s worth of activities into five weeks, get yourself caught up on the pop culture you might have missed while you were making better use of your summer.

Television

Movies

Trailers

  • A Wrinkle In Time:

 

  • The Glass Castle:

 

  • Blade Runner 2049:

 

  • The Layover:

 

  • Wild River:

 

  • Professor Marston & The Wonder Woman:

 

  • The Tick:

 

  • Mr. Mercedes:

 

  • The Disaster Artist:

 

  • The Incredible Jessica James:

 

  • Darkest Hour:

 

  • Crown Heights:

 

  • Leatherface:

 

  • Narcos, season 3:

 

  • Difficult People, season 3:

 

  • American Assassin:

 

  • Atypical:

 

  • Outlander, season 3:

 

  • Naked:

Music

Theater

Books

Odds and Ends

Sir Carter and Rumi 1 month today. 🙏🏽❤️👨🏽👩🏽👧🏽👶🏾👶🏾

A post shared by Beyoncé (@beyonce) on

Still unclear – is her son’s name Sir Carter Carter?

Mashups and Supercuts

  • Hamilton meets Game of Thrones:

 

  • Every Rage Against the Machine song in 3 minutes:

 

  • The Game of Thrones theme play on traditional Southeast Asian folk instruments:

 

  • What if Garden State had a Dave Matthews Band soundtrack:

 

  • Ghostbusters recut as a slasher flick:

 

 

Leave a Reply

