Pop Culture Odds and Ends – Jon Stewart Signs Off Edition

Well, tonight is the night. Jon Stewart’s final Daily Show episode is tonight and I’m not going to lie – I’m pretty upset about it. I’ve been watching The Daily Show for Jon Stewart’s entire run and it hurts my heart to think that after tonight that it will all be over. Back when I was teaching, he was a great tool for getting my college freshman interested in politics. I’m sure that Trevor Noah will make the show his own, but the realization that Stewart will no longer be a part of my daily routine just makes me so sad. I was a fan of Stewart before The Daily Show and I’ll be a fan after, but he’ll probably never be able to recreate the lightening in the bottle that was The Daily Show. Thank goodness for John Oliver and Last Week Tonight or I’d have to watch the news like regular people *shudder.*

But the show must go on and despite my depression over Stewart leaving, there’s still plenty of pop culture out in the world to cheer us all up. My schedule is screwy this week so you’re getting a slightly belated roundup. The good news is that with an extra day, I could find even more pop culture goodness to share with you. So without any further ado, get yourself caught up on the last eight days of the week in pop.

55c0dc769e9755183d982556_alexander-skarsgard-drag-diary-of-a-teenage-girl

  • Coach Taylor is BACK…to tell you to turn off your g*dd*mn cell phones in the theater:

 

CLkRGRuW8AQ2psS

  • Jenny McCarthy shared a #TBT photo of her and her cousin Melissa (yes – THAT Melissa McCarthy):

 

Time for some trailers……

  • The first trailer for Deadpool:

 

  • I love this teaser for Zoolander 2:

 

  • The Leftovers second season:

 

  • Everest:

 

  • Hulu’s The Hotwives of Las Vegas:

 

  • HBO’s Vinyl:

 

  • David Simon’s miniseries Show Me a Hero:

 

  • Stonewall:

 

  • Dirty Weekend:

 

  • Johnny Depp in Black Mass:

 

  • The new Ghostbusters visited some sick kids in the hospital:

 

tumblr_nskezlNpui1r83d7lo1_500

baymax-3

  • 1000 musicians play Learn to Fly by Foo Fighters to ask Dave Grohl to come and play in Cesena, Italy:

 

  • Cecil the lion will live on……as a Beanie Baby. Profits will got to the Wildlife Conservation Research Unit of the University of Oxford.

 

As always, we end with the mashups and supercuts…..

  • Doug Funnie sings “Trap Queen”:

 

tumblr_nq905nNCct1uwkuyco1_500h

 

  • Steel Panther, Miley Cyrus and Billy Ray Cyrus covered some Def Leppard:

 

55c2191a14000077002e2013

  • Linkin Park meets Smashmouth:

 

  • Alabama Shakes’ Brittany Howard joins Paul McCarthy on stage at Lollapalooza:

 

  • The Kelly Clarkson covers continue; this time it’s “Wrecking Ball”:

 

  • Tina Fey’s Beyoncé game is strong:

 

  • “Uptown Funk” sung by the movies:

 

  • A Taylor Swift/Harry Potter mashup:

 

  • The Muppets cover “Jungle Boogie”:

 

  • This Game of Thrones remix is really catchy:

 

  • And finally, two of my favorite things combined – Breaking Bad and Seinfeld:

 

Leave a comment