Pop Culture Odds and Ends – The Force Awakens Edition

 

Tonight, millions of people will flock to the theater to see the new Star Wars move. After months of speculation and tracking every scrap of news about the film, fans will finally get to see if The Force Awakens is closer to A New Hope or The Phantom Menace. I’m sure many people are absolutely giddy with anticipation.

I’m not one of those people, of course; I probably won’t even see The Force Awakens unless I have to as part of my Oscar death race. Star Wars ain’t my bag, probably because I didn’t see the original trilogy for the first time until I was in my thirties. I wasn’t super impressed and I never bothered to watch the second trilogy. I won’t complain about all the hoopla surrounding The Force Awakens – Just because it isn’t for me I won’t deny others their fun – but I’m kind of relieved that all this build up is over. I’ll probably be at the movies tonight, but that will be to see the movie that I’ve been looking forward to for months: Sisters with Tina Fey and Amy Poehler. I’ll wave to the Star Wars fans in line as I stroll into my probably half empty theater.

But now on to the delayed pop culture roundup. It’s been a crazy week this week for me – you’ll hear more about some of that next week – so I apologize for falling behind. Hopefully it is worth the wait.

Let’s kick things off with a little Star Wars related news……

  • An a cappella tribute to Star Wars:

 

 

https://www.instagram.com/p/_KSlMGsmZ6/

  • Bad Lip Reading tackled Star Wars:

 

 

Happy-dance

5671c6d81f00002c00e9bf57

  • John Krasinski and Jimmy Kimmel continued their long running Christmas prank war:

 

 

  • Colbert also learned Jonathan Groff’s King George walk from Hamilton:

 

 

Time for some trailers……

  • Star Trek Beyond:

 

  • Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them:

 

  • X-Men: Apocalypse:

 

  • House of Cards:

https://twitter.com/HouseofCards/status/676958648069840896?ref_src=twsrctfw

 

  • Netflix’s Making a Murderer:

 

  • Whiskey Tango Foxtrot:

 

  • The Legend of Tarzan (starring Alexander Skarsgard’s magnificent abs):

 

  • Disney’s The BFG:

 

  • Independence Day: Resurgence:

 

  • Sherlock: The Abominable Bride:

 

  • High-Rise:

 

  • Some teasers for WGN’s Underground:

 

 

  • Season 2 of Lip Sync Battle:

 

  • Unravel:

 

  • Whitney Cummings: I’m Your GirlFriend:

 

  • Comedy Central’s Idiotsitter:

 

  • Misconduct:

 

  • Anesthesia:

 

  • The season 3 trailer of The 100:

 

  • Martyrs:

 

  • A red-band trailer for FX’s Man Seeking Woman:

 

  • Eddie the Eagle:

 

 

As always, we end with the supercuts and mashups…..

  • A tribute to John Candy:

https://vimeo.com/148389037

 

  • What if Woody Allen directed Star Wars:

 

  • Who knew the Twin Peaks theme and Britney Spears would go so well together?

 

  • This dog has some sweet moves, but terrible taste in music:

 

  • The Captain America/Team America mashup we didn’t know we needed:

 

  • A cover of R. Kelly’s “Ignition (Remix)” in the style of Sinatra:

 

  • Adele’s “Hello” set in the Star Wars universe:

 

  • A Storm Trooper auditions for Blue Man Group:

 

  • Celebrities do a dramatic reading of “Hotline Bling”:

 

  • President Obama is also a fan of Drake’s hit song:

 

  • And finally, Sesame Street meets Game of Thrones:

Leave a comment