Heather’s Oscar Ballot and Academy Awards Roundup

Sunday is the big day – the 85th Annual Academy Awards ceremony and all the pageantry that goes along with it will finally commence. In many ways, this is like my Super Bowl; I’ve been prepping for this for months and trying to make the right calls (go see Life of Pi in the theater; wait until Cloud Atlas comes out on video) to get me closer to my goals. Next year I need to remember not to leave the foreign films and documentaries until the end; it is going to be a rough couple of days as I slog through films about sexual assault in the military (The Invisible War), the AIDS epidemic (How to Survive a Plague), a sailing journey from Peru to Polynesia (Kon-Tiki) and a bunch of documentary shorts that I’m willing to guess are not about kittens and cotton candy (now that is a documentary that should be made!). I have a lead on obtaining a copy of No, so it may wind up that the only film I don’t see before the Oscar broadcast is the documentary The Gatekeepers. I should have saved an animated feature or two for the end, just to cleanse the palate. I really could have used some Wreck-It Ralph last night after watching the story of a twelve year old African girl forced into becoming a child soldier (War Witch). These have all been worthy films, but back-to-back-to-back it is all a bit much.

Though I’m not quite done with my Oscar prep, I feel as confident as I am going to be about making some predictions. The hard part is in predicting what I think the Academy will recognize, rather than just my personal favorites. Not surprisingly, an organization comprised primarily of older white men and I don’t always see eye to eye. However, this year’s crop of nominations overall is so strong that even if I’m wrong, it would be hard for someone who is undeserving to win (unless it is Sally Field for Lincoln – she shouldn’t have been nominated, in my humble opinion).

My 2013 Oscar ballot:

Best Picture: Argo

Best Actor: Daniel Day-Lewis

Best Actress: Jennifer Lawrence

Best Supporting Actor: Tommy Lee Jones

Best Supporting Actress: Anne Hathaway

Best Director: Steven Spielberg

Best Original Screenplay: Django Unchained

Best Adapted Screenplay: Argo

Best Animated Feature: Brave

Best Foreign Film: Amour

Best Visual Effects: Life of Pi

Best Cinematography: Life of Pi

Best Costume Design: Anna Karenina

Best Documentary Feature: Searching for Sugar Man

Best Documentary Short: Inocente

Best Film Editing: Argo

Best Makeup and Hairstyling: The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey

Best Music: (Original Score): Life of Pi

Best Music (Original Song): “Skyfall” from Skyfall

Best Production Design: Les Miseables

Best Short Film, Animated: Paperman

Best Short Film, Live Action: Death of a Shadow

Best Sound Editing: Zero Dark Thirty

Best Sound Mixing: Les Misearbles

I’m not the only person excited about the Oscars; the Internet has been abuzz with stories related to the Academy Awards over the last few days. Check out the links below to help you get in the spirit for movies’ big night on Sunday:

  • This is ALL sorts of bulls^&t: the Oscars won’t end with the Best Picture announcement this year.
  • If you love statistics – and who doesn’t – this website by a Georgia Tech grad student breaks down pretty much everything you’d want to know about the Oscars. I could spend hours on this thing.
  • Want to have all the Oscar best picture nominated films spoiled for you? Watch this video:

 

  • 17 things you need to know about Oscar host Seth MacFarlane.
  •  The American Humane Society recognizes outstanding animal treatment and performances on the big screen with the Pawscars. Check out the winners (and a special appearance by my pal Uggie the dog!):

 

  • The Huffington Post has a sweet story about the fundraising that the two young stars of the live action short Buzkasi Boys did to be able to attend the Oscar ceremony (their first trip out of their country).
  • Watch the best and worst Oscar acceptance speeches. Tom Hanks’ speech later inspired the film In and Out.
  • One of my favorite things about the Oscars is the episode of Jimmy Kimmel Live that airs afterward. Kimmel has already released a sneak peek of the trailer for the sequel to last year’s fake all-star movie, Movie: The Movie

 

  • Speaking of embarrassing, Ben Affleck’s 1993 directorial debut (I Killed My Lesbian Wife) has turned up on line, just in time for this year’s Oscars:

You’ve come a long way, Ben.

  • Ever wonder what the song “I Dreamed a Dream” would sound like if sang by Gollum from Lord of the Rings? Wonder no more:

 

  • New York Magazine has an article on what it is like when your ex is nominated for an Oscar (he’s not named, but the ex in question in the article is one of the producers on The Beasts of the Southern Wild).
  • This week on Late Night with Jimmy Fallon, The Roots did a rap about the Best Picture nominees

 

And puppies predicted who they thought would win Best Picture (the puppies were right about the Super Bowl):

 

  • Google put together a website for the Oscars.
  • Vulture debates which Best Supporting Actor nominee will give the best speech (they are all previous Oscar winners)
  • Kids reenact this year’s Best Picture nominees:

 

  • Hulu presents the Fauxscars – 10 Oscar categories that don’t exist (but should).
  • A new Oscar poster commemorates 85 years of Best Picture Oscars
  • And finally, Anne Hathaway has proven to be easy to parody. Here’s a fake “for your consideration” ad:

 

And here is the “actress” singing the theme for Boy Meets World:

 

Who do you think will win on Sunday? Give your predictions in the comments and check in on Monday for my thoughts on the telecast.

2 thoughts on “Heather’s Oscar Ballot and Academy Awards Roundup

  1. Alex says:

    Why you hatin’ on Sally Field? Her role in Lincoln was the only thing that made that movie even remotely tolerable. But maybe that’s because I can only relate to emotionally imbalanced and overwrought characters/personages.

    I don’t have any “predictions” but I thought Beasts was Best Picture. I haven’t seen Django yet so that could change. But I though Beasts was most original and imaginative and who can resist that badass little girl?

    I liked all the interesting links in this post. Rather cool. Thank you!

  2. […] Heather’s Oscar Ballot and Academy Awards Roundup […]

Leave a comment