Pop Culture Odds and Ends – Did You Miss Me? Edition

Arnold-Schwarzenegger

 

What a difference a few days off can make! While I did miss blogging for all of you while I was on vacation, the time away did me good. I feel so refreshed and energized after my brief hiatus; my co-workers are probably wishing that I had done this a while ago. I even managed to not check work email until day 4 of being away. Considering that I am the same person who has answered work correspondence while on a ride at EPCOT and during a live show at the Dallas Zoo, this is a minor miracle.

I didn’t forget about you all while I was recharging; I may have blown off all work responsibilities, but I made sure to keep tabs on the world of pop culture even while laying out by the pool. I couldn’t leave you hanging; that’s not my style. So while I enjoy the residual effects of a little R&R, peruse your biweekly roundup and check out some of the stellar pop culture nuggets that I’ve compiled.

  • A&E has ordered a season of Carlton Cuse’s adaptation of the French series The Returned. The original is sitting on my DVR.
  • Some day, The Tonight Show editing clips together to make Brian Williams rap will no longer be funny. Today is not that day:

 

tumblr_mrj3lzNL0J1sat0smo1_500

  • Watch a live read of Space Jam with Blake Griffin:

http://www.funnyordie.com/videos/8db066d2e0/the-live-read-of-space-jam-with-blake-griffin

 

  • Lucasfilms announced that the books and comics that make up the expanded universe are no longer part of the Star Wars canon.
  • The Fifth Element as an 8 bit video game:

 

  • Congrats to Olivia Wilde and Jason Sudeikis on the birth of their son:

 

  • Courtney Love is releasing new music:

 

o-GAME-OF-THRONES-570

  • I’ve just discovered the webseries EconPop, which mixes pop culture and economics. Right up my alley!
  • The Peter Dinklage Game of Thrones theme shouldn’t be this amusing – but it is:

 

  • My new favorite Game of Thrones character is Ser Pounce:

tumblr_n4q27q7P321s8kxvlo1_500

  • Seth Meyers sits down with a grown up Little Orphan Annie:

 

And now, a break for some trailers

  • An extended trailer for The Fault in Our Stars:

 

  • HBO has released a new trailer for The Leftovers:

 

  • Mike Myers (yup, that Mike Myers) makes his directoral review with the documentary Supermensch:

 

  • A new teaser for Louie, featuring my pal Jerry Seinfeld:

 

  • Richard Linklater’s new film Boyhood looks pretty good; it has a lot of buzz around it at Sundance:

 

  • A new trailer for Sin City A Dame to Kill For:

 

Madden 15 will hit stores August 26th:

 

Amy Poehler and Paul Rudd in They Came Together:

 

A teaser for the final season to True Blood:

 

The first look at Lifetime’s Petals on the Wind. You know I’ll be watching:

 

Clint Eastwood’s adaptation of Jersey Boys:

 

  • Head over to NPR to listen to Dolly Parton’s new album (her 42nd!).

As always, we wrap things up with the mashups and supercuts:

  • A$AP Ferg and “Let It Go”

http://vimeo.com/92990850

 

  • If you speed up Bruce Springsteen’s “I’m on Fire,” it sounds a little like Dolly Parton:

 

  • A new mod allows you to play Grand Theft Auto as Princess Ana:

 

  • Local reporters can’t pronounce Lupita Nyong’o’s name:

 

  • There have been a lot of threats of prison rape in TVs and the movies:

 

  • A Frozen/ “Thriller” mashup:

 

  • A slow jams version of the DuckTales theme song:

 

  •  The Firefly gang as Scooby Doo:
  • Forrest Gump credits done in the style of Wes Anderson:

 

  • A supercut of Walter White’s transformation on Breaking Bad:

 

  • And finally…THIS is how How I Met Your Mother should have ended (spoilers if you didn’t see the finale):

Leave a comment