Pop Culture Odds and Ends – Thanksgiving Eve Edition

Tomorrow is Thanksgiving and once again, I am humbled by how much I have to be thankful for. You wouldn’t necessarily know it to listen to me- I’ve been complaining a lot lately at work – but underneath my grumbling I do realize that I am incredibly fortunate. Even if this pending snow storm derails my plans this evening, which at this point looks pretty likely, I have much to be appreciative of. That’s why Thanksgiving in one of my favorite holidays; it’s a chance for everyone, regardless of religion affiliation, to take a moment to reflect on the good things in their lives . We as a society don’t do that enough and I’m as guilty as anyone.

Thanksgiving is also a time to spend with family and friends; there will be plenty of small talk going on around dining room tables across the country. This can be treacherous. I’ve had a few unpleasant Thanksgivings where politics have been the focus of conversation and attacking me was the main course. Nobody wants that. But that’s where the pop culture roundup can come in handy; you can brush up on what’s going on in the world of pop and then use that to steer the conversation toward more pleasant topics. That’s definitely my game plan. So before you head over the river and through the woods to Grandmother’s house, take a quick tour through the pop culture developments of the last seven days.

  • A mysterious new Game of Thrones website has popped up:

  • It’s a Shawshank Redemption reunion:

 

w640

  • Last Week Tonight with John Oliver is on break, but he has some thought on turkey pardoning:

 

  • You can stream Beyoncé Platinum Edition on Spotify.
  • I don’t have a yard and I’m an adult, but someone needs to get me this Groot Swing STAT:

groot-swing

  • Troy and Abed reunited…..for a commercial:

 

kimp_copy

Time for some trailers….

  • Ryan Reynolds in The Captive:

 

  • Disney’s live action Cinderella:

 

  • American Heist:

 

  • The Bellas are back for Pitch Perfect 2:

 

  • Another trailer for Peter Pan Live!:

 

  • Season five of Portlandia:

 

  • Ryan Phillippe and Juliette Lewis in ABC’s Secrets and Lies:

 

  • Hugh Jackman in Pan:

 

  • The trailer for Jurassic World has arrived:

 

  • A new trailer for The Interview:

 

  • A new trailer for Justified:

 

  • FX dropped some new promos for The Comedians:

 

  • A new teaser for Agent Carter:

 

  • The Expendables 4 will be R-rated….assuming that there is an Expendables 4.
  • Watch Rory McCann’s audition for the Hound on Game of Thrones:

 

a_560x0

  • Jennifer Aniston and Lisa Kudrow were in a curse-off:

 

  • This Waka Flocka Flame commercial for Pine Brothers cough drops is real….and hilarious:

 

 

As always, we end with the mashups and supercuts…..

  •  What if Martin Scorsese directed Wet Hot American Summer?

 

batman-anoTYk-8snHmn

 

 

arrested-development-jurassic-world

 

  • The Super Mario World theme played on floppy drives:

 

640

  • A smooth jazz version of Van Halen’s “Running with the Devil”:

 

  • A supercut of 90’s cinema hackers:

 

  • A mashup of Jurassic Park and Ace Ventura:

 

  • Lisa Loeb’s “Stay” and Sam Smith’s “Stay With Me” together:

 

  • And finally – Guardians of the Galaxy meets Friends:

Leave a comment