Pop Culture Odds and Ends – FOMO Edition

Pop-Culture-608x500

This summer is off to a weird start in that I don’t already have a ton of activities and trips planned. Usually at this time of the year, most of my weekends are already booked up and when people ask me when I’ll be free, I give them some dates in November. While I like to keep busy, that pace was kind of exhausting (and expensive) so I decided to cut back a little this year. I’m driving a 14 year old car, so it’s probably time to start putting away some savings for its eventual replacement (though I plan to ride my current car into the freaking ground – and even then still try to drive it). Also, when I broke my ankle, I was unable to go to a lot of things that I’d already bought tickets for, so that money was kind of down the tubes. That made me think perhaps I shouldn’t plan so far in advance. Live more in the moment. Basically go against my entire personality.

Underlying all this thought about fiscal responsibility and not burning myself out was another reason that I tried to cut back this year – fear of missing out or FOMO. One of the problems resulting from planning your summer in March is that when random things come up, you can’t participate. While I was off in NYC or at a concert, I was having a good time but I was also wondering what I was missing at the BBQ that all my friends were at that I was unable to attend. The idea that other people were having more fun than me has always been a concern of mine; one of the reasons that I never took advantage of the opportunity to travel during my college’s January term was because I was afraid that I’d miss out on something cool on campus while I was away. So, as you can see, I’ve been neurotic and crazy for a long time. This summer, I was going to try to leave myself open for the rest of the world that doesn’t plan as far in advance as I do. If a random thing comes up on a Thursday, I wouldn’t have to politely decline because I’d already committed to something that I was much less interested in doing.

This plan makes sense on paper, but so far hasn’t really worked out as I expected. It is quite possible that I am not as popular as I thought I was as the invitations to BBQs and picnics haven’t exactly been rolling in. I’ve been in town more weekends than not the last few months and have subtly advertised this fact, but so far I’ve spent a lot of weekends being bored out of my mind. Maybe people just assume I’m busy or maybe there just aren’t as many events as I thought. All I know is that I’m staring down a three day weekend with nothing to do and it’s giving me untold levels of anxiety. I really should talk to a therapist.

However, the pop culture roundup is here to assuage you of any FOMO you may have about the world of pop culture. I’ve searched high and low to find all the pop culture news that’s fit to print from the last seven days, so that you’ll be able to catch up on anything that you might have missed. So while I decide whether to bite the bullet and make plans for this weekend, you can kick back and relax with the pop culture roundup.

tumblr_ljdz6nNHJf1qzj01e

(Pro tip – you hear someone playing this song, get the hell out of dodge)

 

Time for some trailers….

  • Star Trek Beyond (now with more Rihanna):

 

  • Keeping Up With The Joneses:

 

  • Jack Reacher: Never Go Back:

 

  • HBO’s Divorce:

 

  • Mr. Robot:

 

  • Inferno:

 

  • American Pastoral:

 

  • Bridget Jones’s Baby:

 

  • Joshy:

 

  • Ouija:  Origin of Evil:

 

  • Freedumb:

 

  • Dirty Thirty:

 

  • HBO’s Insecure:

 

  • Lights Out:

 

  • Morgan:

 

  • The Get Down:

 

  • The 9th Life of Louis Drax:

 

  • Difficult People:

 

 

 

 

As always, we end with the supercuts and mashups….

  • This fan edit tells the origin story of Freddy Krueger:

 

  • Game of Bones:

 

  • Tommen Tenenbaum:

 

  • It’s Always Sunny in Europe:

 

  • 44 years of Brain De Palma movies in six minutes:

 

 

  • This J-Pop Cover of the Ghostbusters theme is way better than the Fall Out Boy version:

 

  • Game of Thrones meets Black Sabbath:

 

  • President Obama sings a little Drake:

 

  • A doo wop version of “MMMbop”:

 

  • And finally, How To Train Your Drogon:

 

 

 

Leave a comment