Pop Culture Odds and Ends – Out of the Sick Bay Edition

Pop-Culture-608x500

It was finally my turn to catch whatever bug has been floating around this winter. Mercifully my time being down for the count was minimal, but man did it come out of nowhere like a freight train to completely level me. I had a mild cold for a few days and was feeling particularly tired on Saturday, but I had things to do and seemed to rally just fine. Most of Sunday I was OK to, until suddenly I wasn’t. And I do mean suddenly – one minute I was enjoying dinner with my family and the next it felt like someone had jammed an ice pick into my forehead and I felt nauseous. It was awful. I even took a sick day on Monday, which is very unlike me. And then, almost as suddenly as it appeared, it was gone. I’m not yet 100%, but I feel a whole lot better than I did for that 24 hour period. Perhaps this was the universe’s way of telling me that I needed to stay home and clear out my DVR, which was filled with some truly questionable movies that I DVRed.

But even my brief stint in the sick bay wasn’t enough to keep me from this week’s roundup. As usual, I’ve found the best that the world of pop culture had to offer in the last week. So while I start to feel like a human again, catch yourself on what you might have missed.

Television

yas

4c4cfcdeae144585f81c34125584f7f3

233367631c544ea8699c82fd5a421ad1

Movies

a21c3b5966139d510eb956494b2d397b490dc47ecfb254ec19bd022e973618a3

 

Trailers

  • Baywatch:

 

  • Spider-Man: Homecoming:

 

  • The Founder:

 

  • Sherlock, season 4:

 

  • War for the Planet of the Apes:

 

  • The Fate of the Furious:

 

  • The OA:

 

  • Fifty Shades Darker:

 

  • Underground, season two:

 

  • A United Kingdom:

 

  • The Last Word:

 

  • Netflix’s One Day at a Time remake:

 

  • The Wall:

 

  • Z: The Beginning of Everything:

 

  • Lady MacBeth:

 

Music

 

200

Stand-Up

Theater

Books

Best of 2016

Odds and Ends

 

Mashups and Supercuts

  • Zack Snyder mashed up Justice League and The Force Awakens:

 

  • The viral trends of 2016 in one video:

 

  • 10 best opening title sequences of all time:

 

  • Lorde and Jack Antonoff cover Robyn’s “Hang With Me”:

 

  • Christmas lights synchronized to AC/DC:

 

  • “The Imperial March” played on a coffee stirrer:

 

  • Finding Dory recut as a thriller:

 

Leave a comment