Pop Culture Odds and Ends – Beyoncé is Pregnant Edition

Pop-Culture-608x500

Things have been crazy at work the last few weeks so I’ve been running around a lot trying to spin a lot of plates and hope that none of them hit the ground. It’s been legit bonkers – my New Year’s resolution of actually taking a lunch break has been replaced by multitasking while eating a salad at my desk. So last Wednesday I had just returned to my office from yet another unexpected diversion when my assistant told me the news – Queen Bey was pregnant. And how flawless is she? Not only is she expecting twins but she made her announcement on the first day of Black History month. That woman has timing.

And of course, as a ride or die fan of Beyoncé and Jay Z, I am happy for them and their ever expanding family. But the first person I thought about was Blue Ivy, who is about to have her world rocked by the arrival of her new siblings. I know because I’ve been there. I was five when my parents told me that I was getting a baby brother or sister (six when he actually arrived) and I was old enough (and smart enough) to know it was going to be a seismic shift in my life. I knew I had a good thing going and that a new baby showing up was going to significantly cut into the amount of attention that I got, not just from my parents but from all their friends. I was getting upstaged and believe you me, I don’t like being upstaged.

Blue Ivy has been the only child of music royalty and has become a celebrity in her own right. Her birth was a big freaking deal, especially since her parents had already lost a child to miscarriage. But now she’s going to have to compete with not one but two new siblings for the limelight. Twins inherently bring their own weird fascination, even when they aren’t born to members of the Illuminati celebrities. Maybe she’ll enjoy getting a little more privacy and letting the new arrivals soak up all the press attention. And of course, Blue Ivy will be fine – it’s hard to be too concerned for a kid that not only is filthy rich but seems to have two doting parents. But I still did have a smidge of sympathy for her when the news broke, one older sister to another.

While I pour one out for Blue Ivy’s lost only child status, get yourself caught up on all the pop culture that you might have missed this week with the latest installment of the roundup.

Television

 

 

Movies

 

Trailers

  • Iron Fist:

 

  • Fist Fight:

 

  • The Blackcoat’s Daugher:

 

  • Snatched:

 

  • Aftermath:

 

  • The Dinner:

 

  • Samurai Jack, season 5:

 

  • Girls Trip:

 

  • Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2:

 

  • A Cure for Wellness:

 

  • Life:

 

  • Logan:

 

  • Stranger Things 2:

 

  • Headshot:

 

  • The Handmaid’s Tale:

 

  • The Fate of the Furious:

 

  • Baywatch:

 

  • Transformers: The Last Knight:

 

Music

 

Theater

Books

Podcasts

Odds and Ends

Mashups and Supercuts

  • 90s movie dance party:

 

  • Stephen Colbert performs “Once in a Lifetime”:

 

  • Someone turned Tim Allen’s grunts into music:

 

  • Emilia Clarke celebrates the end of filming on season 7 with an appropriate song:

 

  • #Gaga4Rent:

 

  • Aaron Paul gets a shot at Price is Right redemption on The Late Late Show:

 

  • James Corden and Adam Lambert has a front man battle:

 

  • LEGO Batman on Gotham Cribs:

 

  • City Slickers meets Westworld:

 

Leave a comment