Pop Culture Odds and Ends – Pumpkin Spice edition

Every August, while everyone else is trying to make the most of what’s left of the summer, I’m anxiously anticipating what I consider the herald of better days – the arrival of pumpkin spice season. This has been especially true this year, since my summer kind of stunk. I have no idea what this autumn will bring, but whatever it is will be vastly improved by sipping some pumpkin coffee and beer and discovering all the new ridiculous ways that companies are cashing in on the popularity of the pumpkin spice trend. I had my first pumpkin coffee on August 21st and I will rid this pony as long as I can. Then the dreaded peppermint season commences and I can go back to being miserable.

So while I settle in to being basic for the next few months, get yourself caught up on all the pop culture that you might have missed  in the last week.

Television

Movies

Trailers

  • Super Troopers 2:

 

  • Tulip Fever:

 

  • Black Mirror, season 4:

 

  • Heathers (TV series):

 

  • Little Evil:

 

  • The Cuckoo’s Calling:

 

  • Last Flag Flying:

 

  • One Mississippi, season 2:

 

  • Gunpowder:

 

  • Brawl In Cell Block 99:

 

  • BoJack Horseman, season 4:

 

  • Literally Right Before Adam:

 

  • Killing Gunther:

 

  • The Opposition with Jordan Klepper:

 

  • Tim & Eric’s Bedtime Stories:

 

Music

Stand-up

Theater

Odds and Ends

Mashups and Supercuts

  • A (fake) trailer for High School Musical 4:

 

  • The trailer for the second season of Martha & Snoop’s Potluck Dinner Party channels Ghost:

 

  • Sesame Street parodies “Despacito”:

Leave a comment