Pop Culture Odds and Ends – AHS: Cult Edition

Last night American Horror Story debuted their new season, Cult, and as always I tuned in. I have a weird relationship with the American Horror Story franchise – I enjoy the fact that each season has its own special batsh*t crazy vibe, but I usually lose interest in the mess that they have created somewhere around episode 6 when it becomes pretty clear that the series has once again gone off the rails and isn’t going to stick the landing. Yet every season they hit the reset button and faithfully I return, waiting to see what insanity they have up their sleeve.

This season is going to be a challenge for me, since creepy clowns featured pretty prominently in the pilot episode and I am no fan of clowns. One clown I can handle, but once you start introducing multiple clowns I start to get more and more anxious. Between AHS: Cult and the It remake both debuting , it is a banner week for the creepy clown industry. I have to say that I was a little bored with the AHS: Cult premiere; I’ll give it a few episodes, but I’m just not loving the post-election horror story so far. We’ll see how it plays out.

While I contemplate seeking treatment for coulrophobia, catch yourself up on the pop culture that you might have missed with this week’s roundup.

Television

Movies

Trailers

  • The Magic School Bus Rides Again:

 

  • Mudbound:

 

  • Jungle:

 

  • Mindhunter:

 

  • Wheelman:

 

  • A Bad Moms Christmas:

 

  • Long Shot:

 

  • Downsizing:

 

  • The Snowman:

 

  • Mr. Robot, season 3:

 

  • A new season of South Park:

 

  • The Mindy Project, final season:

 

  • Star Wars Rebels, season 4:

 

  • Tin Star:

 

  • Big Bang Theory, season 11:

 

  • Damnation:

 

  • Marshall:

 

  • Friend Request:

 

  • Lady Bird:

 

  • Insidious: The Last Key:

 

  • Una:

Music

Theater

Books

Stand-up

Odds and Ends

Mashups and Supercuts

  • “Enter Sandman” in different genres:

 

  • This supercut makes Jon Snow’s life an inspirational movie (spoilers):

 

  • A Game of Thrones jam session:

 

  • Game of Thrones characters get Tim Burton makeovers:

https://www.instagram.com/p/BXqXulyBj9W/?taken-by=askandy

 

https://www.instagram.com/p/BYG-ReDnNIk/?taken-by=askandy

 

https://www.instagram.com/p/BX8jy0sHWzB/?taken-by=askandy

 

  • Bart Simpson as Harry Potter:

 

  • What if Game of Thrones took place in modern day?

Leave a comment