Pop Culture Odds and Ends – The Roosevelts Edition

Pop-Culture-608x500

Is anyone else out there watching the new Ken Burns documentary on the Roosevelts this week? The film does an interesting job of intertwining the stories of Teddy, Eleanor and Fraklin and I’m learning a lot about historical figures that I already knew a lot about, but the run-time for this thing is killing me.  The film is a total of 14 hours long and is showing every night this week in two hour blocks. I think this program is slowly killing me; I know that if I don’t stay current on it the episodes will just pile up on my DVR and I’ll never watch it, yet the two hour time commitment every night is a little daunting – especially since this is the type of programming that I need to focus on. So unlike most shows that I watch, I can’t multitask while it’s on; I tried doing that and then had to rewind it once I realized that I had no idea what was going on. Teddy was suddenly in Panama and the last I knew the story was focused on Franklin’s childhood. It’s all really interesting – Eleanor’s dad was a MESS –  but this is my equivalent of running a marathon. This week it’s all eat, sleep and Roosevelts.

Lucky for you, I foresaw this giant time suck and got a head start on this week’s roundup, so my commitment to presidential history will not derail our journey through pop culture. That’s the kind of dedication that would make the Roosevelts proud 🙂 So while I single handily try to resurrect the use of the word “bully” as a positive exclamation, kick back and get yourself caught up on the pop culture that you may have missed in the last seven days. And don’t forget that I’m blogging for the Children’s Tumor Foundation this month – please consider making a donation if you enjoy the blog.

  • Ryan Gosling and Eva Mendes are now parents. They welcomed a baby girl Friday.

Katey Sagal Honored On The Hollywood Walk Of Fame

  • Watch Conan O’Brien perform “The Monorail Song” from an episode he wrote at The Simpsons Take The Hollywood Bowl:

 

  • You can watch the other live performances from The Simpsons Take The Hollywood Bowhere.

Mind-Blown-Kramer

  • No big whoop – just Benedict Cumberbatch channeling Mr. Darcy:

  • A new poster for Into the Woods:

tumblr_nc077lRgB71qz8vumo1_500

  • Bryan Cranston + baseball = Heather’s wheelhouse:

 

  • You can now text Groot, though his response is about what you’d expect:

Screenshot_2014-09-17-08-35-43

 

Facts-of-Life

  • Chris Pratt – still winning the Internet:

Let’s break for some trailers

  •  James Franco has a new webseries on AOL where he mashes up movies:

 

  • A trailer for Neil Patrick Harris’ new book:

 

  • The Hunger Games: Mockingjay:

 

  • More Jennifer Lawrence, this time with Bradley Cooper, in Serena:

 

  • A preview of the upcoming season of Person of Interest:

 

  • A teaser for the new season of Broad City, debuting in January 2015 (yay!):

 

  • Jason Schwartzman and Elizabeth Moss in Listen Up Philip:

 

  • Chris Evans in Playing It Cool:

 

  • A promo for Jerrod Carmichael’s standup special on HBO:

 

  • Another week, another American Horror Story: Freak  Show teaser (bonus – NO CLOWNS!):

 

  • Morgan Freeman will appear in both Ted 2 and the Ben-Hur remake.
  • I can’t picture the fraternity brothers that I fraternized with doing anything like this, but this “Shake It Off” lipdub made me laugh:

 

  • Billy Eichner and David Letterman play “Celebrity Child or Kentucky Derby Winner?”

 

  • Lupita Nyong’o dropped by Sesame Street:

 

  • Jeff Goldblum has created lyrics for the Jurassic Park theme:

 

As always, we end with the supercuts and mashups:

  • What happened to cartoon stars of the 1980s?

 

il_570xN.597373578_7v7b

  • Someone recreated the open sequence of Guardians of the Galaxy in the video game Destiny:

 

  • Pop songs remixes with bike horns:

 

  • “Cell Block Tango” re-done with Mariah Carey, Beyoncé, and Rihanna:

 

 

  • Sesame Street did a Star Wars parody, Star S’Mores.

 

longform-original-2993-1410821756-26

 

  • A few weeks ago, I found fault with the assertion that Frank was the most evil character on It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia; the supercut proves my point:

 

  • Matthew McConaughey’s Lincoln ad meets True Detective:

 

  • The DuckTales theme sung with movie clips:

 

  • And finally, Orange Is the New Black meets The Golden Girls:

 

Leave a comment