Pop Culture Odds and Ends – Mea Culpa Edition

 

It’s not even a week into the new year and I already have to offer an apology. Last week I ended 2015 by looking back at my favorite pop culture of the year. However, in the rush to get that post done, I made a major omission – I somehow forgot to write about Fargo, which was perhaps my favorite season of television last year. This was such an egregious mistake that I didn’t want to make the change to the post, as Fargo deserves its own shout out. The first season of Fargo was fantastic, but the show somehow managed to exceed all expectations with its spectacular second season. There was no sophomore slump for this show; they managed to put together perhaps the best ensemble cast of the year to tell a riveting story that I looked forward to every week. I have no explanation for why I forgot to add it to my post; perhaps I was so blinded by its brilliance that I was momentarily disoriented. If you haven’t watched it yet, you are doing yourself a disservice.

Now that that’s out of the way, we can continue with your regularly scheduled pop culture roundup of last week’s best nuggets of pop culture news.

 

R5Y74YDl.png

 

 

Time for some trailers…..

  • The Oscars:

 

  • Deadpool:

 

  • Vikings season 4:

 

  • Zootopia:

 

  • B-Roll:

 

  • Baskets:

 

  • Werner Herzog’s documentary, Lo and Behold – Reveries of the Connected World:

 

  • Love (Judd Apatow’s Netflix series):

 

  • Tom Segura: Mostly Stories:

 

  • Chelsea Does:

 

  • Documentary Heroes of the Empire:

 

 

BCS-S2-KeyArt-Poster-1920

https://www.instagram.com/p/_-nM-OReRj/?taken-by=benhanisch

 

As always, we end with the supercuts and mashups….

  • The changing face of Leonardo DiCaprio:

 

  • Marc Jacobs recreated a scene from Zoolander:

 

  • The Downton Abbey intro with different audio:

 

  • The Detroit Pistons made President Obama rap:

https://twitter.com/DetroitPistons/status/684417585199198209

 

  • A cappella “We are the Champions”:

 

  • Demi Lovato and Fall Out Boy pay tribute to NSYNC in their new music video:

 

  • Someone recut The Wizard of Oz so all the dialogue is in alphabetical order:

 

  • Inside Out with all the “inside” parts removed:

 

  • A Sesame Street/True Detective mashup:

 

Seth Meyers does a great Making a Murderer parody:

 

  • And finally, The Wire gets an animated intro:

Leave a comment