Pop Culture Odds and Ends – Vacation Booked Edition

I have commitment issues. This has manifested itself in many aspects of my life, but most recently reared its head when it came to planning for my upcoming vacation. I am, by nature, an organized person. For me, sometimes planning a trip is almost as fun as actually going on the trip. I love exploring the different things to see, eat, and do when I am away from home. I have the Pinterest boards to prove it.

But getting me to actually commit to flights is always a struggle. When it comes to airfare, I’m always playing a game of chicken, hoping that the price of flights will drop further before I am willing to book. I’ve known that friends and I are going to Austin for months now, but I was convinced that I could get a better deal (not only do I like to maximize my time, but my dollars as well). This strategy is nerve-wracking and I wind up booking when I finally stress myself out enough to make a decision. This week, I was starting to put myself in a panic as flights were actually getting more expensive – not the trend I was looking for. I was worried that I was going to blow my travel budget before I even got to Austin, but then, like an angel from above, I found a tremendous deal. Even then I briefly hesitated, wondering if something better may come along. Much like Alexander Hamilton and Angelica Schuyler, I’m never satisfied. But then common sense prevailed and I made the purchase. Now my vacation is real and I can finally let myself get excited for it. It’s only three days off from work, but man do I need them.

Something else to get excited for – this week’s pop culture roundup. As always, I’ve tried to bring you the best that the world of pop has to offer. So while I scout Austin for the best breakfast tacos and BBQ, get yourself caught up on what you may have missed.

Television

 

Movies

Trailers

  • It:

 

  • Game of Thrones, season 7:

 

  • A teaser for The Defenders:

 

  • Dimension 404:

 

  • Preacher, season 2:

 

  • King Arthur: Legend of the Sword:

 

  • Silicon Valley, season 4:

 

  • War Machine:

 

  • Claws:

 

  • War for the Planet of the Apes:

 

  • Alien: Covenant:

 

  • Girlboss:

 

  • Ingrid Goes West:

 

  • The Mummy:

 

  • Valerian And The City Of A Thousand Planets:

 

  • Berlin Syndrome:

 

  • I Am Heath Ledger:

 

  • Unforgettable:

 

  • Get Me Roger Stone:

 

  • Annabelle Creation:

 

  • The Book of Henry:

 

  • A Dark Song

 

Music

Books

Stand-up

Theater

Odds and Ends

Mashups and Supercuts

  • Jack Nicholson getting mad montage:

 

  • It meets Cat in the Hat:

 

  • A side-by-side comparison of It (2017) and It (1990):

 

  • A soap opera comprised of only Katy Perry lyrics:

 

  • Chris Evans in a trailer for the fake biopic Dennis:

 

  • Billy on the Sesame Street:

 

  • This Spider-Man: Homecoming homemade trailer is pretty darn close to the original:

 

  • The Muppets cover 50 Cent’s “In the Club”:

 

 

Leave a comment